Mississippi Lyrical Lo-Fi Artist Laeland Announces “Love Is Killing U, Vol. 1” EP

January 27, 2023 BY Jason Currell

Today. rapper/singer/producer Laeland announces his next EP Love Is Killing U, Vol. 1, out on March 3. The project is the third from the Mississippi-based artist and his first with Nettwerk, following 2018’s Heavily Edited Heart, Vol. 1 and 2021’s Traveling Alone.

Love Is Killing U – Volume 1 is a collection of sad-rap melancholy love songs following the events leading up to the ending of a relationship. In this project, Laeland musically ties together each of the tracks using various harmonic vocalization and cinematic instrumentation. He’s joined in this project by two longtime friends, Skinny Atlas and Snøw.

Today, Laeland releases the melancholy single “Just Give Me Something” via Nettwerk, featuring Snøw and anonymous producer Boy Nobody. The song follows the release of “Dumb Luck,” “Now And Then,” and “i wish u cheated sooner.” Traditional hip-hop drums and melodies are mixed with acoustic guitar to create the classic sad-rap sound, as Laeland articulates his complicated feelings for a love interest.

Just Give Me Something,” shares Laeland, “narratively approaches the inner workings of a back and forth relationship. There are demands made that aren’t elaborated on, moods that change with days, and romantic dynamics that shift more frequently as the relationship falls further into ruin. The worst is yet to come, they just don’t know it yet.

“Just Give Me Something” is available at digital retailers here:https://laeland.ffm.to/justgivemesomething

Love Is Killing U, Vol. 1 Tracklist

01. Just Give Me Something

02. Dumb Luck

03. Now And Then

04. u never call.

05. i wish u cheated sooner.

Album Artwork | Download HERE

Laeland Bio

Laeland (Let’s All Embrace Life And Never Die) is a Lofi musician and songwriter from Mississippi. The acronym not only serves as the combination of letters that make up the name Laeland but also as a lifestyle. 

Born Bradley Davis, Laeland first got into music in 2015 as a performer in his high school show choir. Laeland began making his own music in his bedroom during his junior year of high school,  where he found solace in the world of lo-fi. He would go on to form the Stay Inside Collective with Snøw and fellow Nettwerk Music Group signee Skinny Atlas. Years of friendship and music-making ushered them to create emotionally driven songs such as “I’m inlove but…” and “Summer Nights.”

Laeland’s catalog has accumulated over 50 million streams across platforms—and 2021 was his most successful year as an artist yet. He picked up 15.2 million streams, landed on Spotify editorial playlists such as tear drop and Alternative R&B and secured a sync placement on an episode of “Teen Mom 2” for single “Traveling Alone.”

Laeland wants his music to empower those who hold themselves back from pursuing their dreams and aspirations. Listeners all across the world have used Laeland’s music as a catalyst for self-help, and have felt emboldened to share their personal stories of heartbreak in the comments section of his videos.

Photo Credit: Antwon Hatfield | Download HERE