July 21, 2023 BY Jason Currell

Today, Ojai, CA-based producer MÒZÂMBÎQÚE, aka Andrew Smith, shares new EP Peril 1998, in collaboration with producer Soft Palace. The duo began working on the EP in 2022, and despite recording everything remotely, they formed a special bond that transcended their love for music.

“The approach was, ‘Let’s do whatever feels good,'” Andrew reveals. “The EP is very eclectic. It’s all electronic music, but there are slower songs and more upbeat house songs as well. That’s why our collaborative relationship works well. We’re never worried about what genre it is as long as we enjoy it.”

Peril 1998 combines three instrumentals with two vocal tracks (“Resolve” and “Embrace”). Featured vocalists include The Philharmonik, Destiny Molina and Pattie Lin.

MÒZÂMBÎQÚE has long found inspiration in the beauty of the natural world. To give back to this muse, Andrew pledged to plant one tree for each presave of Peril 1998. 

Peril 1998 is available at digital retailers here: https://mozambique.ffm.to/peril1998

Peril 1998 Cover Art | Download HERE
Peril 1998 Tracklist
01. Borderlines
02. Embrace (with Destiny Molina & The Philharmonik)
03. Naturhaus 
04. Resolve (with Pattie Lin)
05. Amanda