Left-Field Electronic Artist MÒZÂMBÎQÚE Announces ‘Peril 1998’ EP With Soft Palace

March 24, 2023 BY Jason Currell

Today, LA-based producer MÒZÂMBÎQÚE, aka Andrew Smith, announces his next EP Peril 1998, in collaboration with producer Soft Palace. The duo began working on the EP in 2022, and despite recording everything remotely, they formed a special bond that transcended their love for music.

“The approach was, ‘Let’s do whatever feels good,'” Andrew reveals. “The EP is very eclectic. It’s all electronic music, but there are slower songs and more upbeat house songs as well. That’s why our collaborative relationship works well. We’re never worried about what genre it is as long as we enjoy it.”

Today, the duo shares the second track from Peril 1998: “Resolve,” featuring Pattie Lin. The song is slower and more somber than the rest of the EP, with Lin’s vocals simultaneously ethereal and approachable, laden with subtle pop hooks.

“This track may serve as a much-needed rest,” shares Andrew, “a blend of electronica and downtempo that’s almost lofi. It is not so surprising that it causes a widespread emotion of being alone out there looking for a friend.

There would be no MÒZÂMBÎQÚE if it weren’t for the beauty of the natural world. To give back to his creative inspiration, Andrew has pledged to plant one tree for each presave for Peril 1998.

“Resolve” is available at digital retailers here: https://mozambique.ffm.to/resolve

Peril 1998 Cover Art | Download HERE

Peril 1998 Tracklist

01. Borderlines

02. Embrace (with Destiny Molina & The Philharmonik)

03. Naturhaus 

04. Resolve (with Pattie Lin)

05. Amanda

Photo Credit: Monica Reyes | Download HERE

Artist Biography

MÒZÂMBÎQÚE leans into the metamorphic flow of his music, granting space for the sound to grow continuously. Born Andrew Smith, MÒZÂMBÎQÚE settled on his artist name during a formative trip to Africa. Post-college, he and a friend booked a one-way ticket to Zimbabwe. He trekked through South Sudan, Kenya, and Mozambique and wound up in the Comoro Islands, where a misunderstanding landed him in jail. As fate would have it, he cleared everything up with the locals, who proved warm and hospitable as he finished his trip.

MÒZÂMBÎQÚE has gone through the whole journey of what I’ve done so far in my life,” shares the artist. “The outdoors is a big inspiration. I’ve had many experiences hiking and traveling where I felt connected to music due to what was happening as I listened. I want to create the same feeling for other people. It’s like passing on a nostalgic experience or good memories.”

MÒZÂMBÎQÚE made his debut with For Never & Ever in 2018, followed by projects such as Mirroring [2021], How To Be A Human [2021], and Sincerely Yours [2022]. Along the way, he piled up millions of streams across fan favorites, including “Private Island – coldbrew Remix,” “Inner Voice,” “Just For A Moment,” and more.