Wrabel Releases Melancholic Tale of Heartbreak, “beautiful day”; New Album ‘based on a true story’ out 11/17

October 6, 2023 BY Bailey Vigliaturo

Today, Wrabel releases “beautiful day,” a melancholic tale of heartbreak swaddled in cinematically lush instrumentations and a dreamlike vocal delivery that is chill-inducing. Perfect for the autumnal changing of seasons, “beautiful day” is the latest taste of what’s to come from the acclaimed singer/songwriter who drops his second full-length album, based on a true story, on November 17 via Big Gay Records/Nettwerk.

Listen to “beautiful day” HERE

“I wrote ‘beautiful day’ with Eric Leva,” says Wrabel. “When we wrote, it I didn’t think it would end up being a song for me, but as we finished it it just felt too good (and too sad) to not record it. Eric and Sam de Jong produced it, and Stevie Blacke played the absolutely gorgeous strings all over it. It’s the feeling of a heartbreak ruining something so simple as a beautiful day; the lush music representing the sun beaming over a clear blue sky, not a cloud in sight, and the lyrics and melody cutting through like a storm coming in.”

Wrabel’s forthcoming based on a true story LP ties together his two previously released 2023 EPs, chapter of me and chapter of you, alongside a handful of new tracks including “beautiful day” and his own recording of “lost cause” (a Wrabel-penned highlight off of P!nk’s most recent album Trustfall.)

Of the new album, Wrabel shared, “I had a very clear intention with the album to try and offer some hope. Like a shoulder to lean on, a friend to confide in… sharing parts of myself that scare me. Sharing things I’ve been through in the hopes that it may make you feel less alone. The last group of new songs I feel tie together the previous chapters and offer some more depth. If I had one dream for the album, it would be simply that I hope it brings you comfort and hope. I put a lot of heart into this, and I hope it reaches yours. And as always I couldn’t have done it without my incredible friends and collaborators and my incredible family team around me.”

Wrabel will be performing two nights at The Sun Rose in West Hollywood on October 20 and 21.

Photo credit: Yazz Alali / Download Here

Earlier this summer, Wrabel released “Turn Up the Love” as the PRIDE anthem he wrote for AT&T Turn Up the Love 2023 campaign (which he recently spoke to Variety about), and also saw his earlier catalog song “The Village” go viral when the inspiring dance troupe Unity auditioned for Britain’s Got Talent with a routine set to the song (which scored them the very rare Golden Buzzer from judge Simon Cowell). He also released a collaboration video with Unity for the song,which really hammers home the unifying message of the song. Initially inspired by a powerful meeting with two transgender fans of his, the song has been praised by People Magazine, Out Magazine, Billboard, and more, and Wrabel also spoke with Good Morning America last year about how he hopes his music connects with people to offer solace and community when they need it the most.

As of today, Wrabel’s own personal discography has racked up over 700m streams across all DSP platforms, while he has also become known for high-profile collaborations/writing credits with Kesha, P!nk, Backstreet Boys, Ellie Goulding, Cam, and more. Over the past few years, his “knife-to-the-heart” (Idolator) songwriting has led to him becoming “one of Hollywood’s finest songwriters for a decade” (American Songwriter), earned him a performance spot on the national NBC TODAY stage and had Billboard saying that Wrabel is “ready for his breakthrough.”

Download Album Art Here

‘based on a true story’ track listing

  1. “another song about love”
  2. “feel it now (alive)”
  3. “just like you”
  4. “abstract art”
  5. “beautiful day”
  6. “on the way down”
  7. “one drink away”
  8. “we all could use some help”
  9. “happier”
  10. “you got yours”
  11. “find it”
  12. “lost cause”
  13. “don’t be so hard on yourself”