Vök’s self-titled album out now

October 1, 2022 BY Jason Currell

Icelandic trio Vök have released their brand-new self-titled album Vök, which is out now via Nettwerk.

LISTEN HERE: https://vok.ffm.to/vok-album

The band preceded the album with recent single Headlights, which followed recent singles IlluminatingMiss Confidence, Lose Control and Stadium alongside their EP Feeding on a Tragedy. Recorded in their Reykjavík studios, the EP was the follow-up to their acclaimed 2019 album In the Dark, which was written and recorded by the band in collaboration with producer James Earp (Bipolar Sunshine, Fickle Friends, Lewis Capaldi).

Their new album Vök, was self-produced by Margrét and Einar in Iceland, mastered by Glenn Schick (Phoebe Bridgers, Future) and mixed by David Wrench (Arlo Parks, Sampha) and Friðfinnur Oculus. The 12-track record is a unique and lushly layered body of work that marks a new era for the band, whilst continuing to cement their position as one of the most exciting and forward-thinking alternative bands right now.

“Making this album was like riding a rollercoaster, it usually is,” said singer Margrét Rán. “But with every album, you learn so much new about yourself and for me, this album was like good therapy.  I’ve never dived so deep into my past and the old emotions that I’ve never taken care of. Losing someone is also a big life lesson, it pulls you to the ground and all of a sudden you feel how fragile life actually is so you become more thankful for each day. Loving is the most wonderful thing and to be able to love who you want really should not be an issue, I mean common. So Einar, Bergur and I are super happy to get this album into the cosmos and move on to the next adventures.

(DL: artwork HERE)


1. Intro
2. Something Bad
3. No Coffee at the Funeral
4. Cold
5. Lose Control
6. Headlights
7. Skin
8. Stadium
9. Illuminating
10 Miss Confidence
11. Lost In The Weekend
12. Running Wild

Vök are Margrét Rán (vocals), Einar Stef (bass/guitar) and Bergur (drums).