The Franklin Electric Share New EP ‘Never Look Back’

November 20, 2020 BY Nettwerk

Montreal based indie collective The Franklin Electric share their latest EP Never Look Back. Recorded in Nashville and co-produced with Ben Cramer from Old Sea Brigade, the title track is about “moving forward despite the fear inside us,” says JUNO nominated frontman Jon Matte, who reminisces on a scary hike in Australia’s Blue Mountains where he felt completely frozen after discovering a new fear of heights. Premiering earlier today on Exclaim!, listen to “Never Look Back” below.

After a successful 2019/2020 European & Canadian headline tour supporting the release of In Your Head / In Your Heart, Jon headed down to Nashville, to record new songs with Ben Cramer (Old Sea Brigade). As COVID-19 had just started creating shock waves across the world, The Franklin Electric’s studio recordings in Nashville came to a halt, forcing Jon to head back to Canada as international borders were closing down. Recording, production and mixing was finalized remotely between the US & Canada and few songs were able to see the light on Never Look Back.

Aside from the title track “Never Look Back,” the EP features two previously released original singles: “Just Ain’t Mine,” which speaks about change and not recognizing yourself within your own reflection, and “Spindle,” a song about saying goodbye and letting go of people, places and things you’ve held onto and being wrapped up in the emotion of it all. It also features four reimagined versions of songs from In Your Head / In Your Heart. “The idea was to strip certain songs in order to focus mainly on the lyrical content,” says Jon. “I felt super comfortable and happy to be back where I started.”

Since emerging in 2014 with their debut album This Is How I Let You Down, The Franklin Electric have logged nearly 400 shows, canvassing the world alongside everyone from Mumford & Sons and Ben Howard to Edward Sharpe and City and Colour. Along the way, 2017’s Blue Ceilings marked a major milestone. Not only did the record produce favorites such as “I Know The Feeling” and “Someone Just Like You,” but it also led to a nomination at the 2018 JUNO® awards in the category of “Breakthrough Group of the Year.”

Stay tuned for more updates in the coming weeks.