SYML Shares New Song “The Dark”       

July 31, 2020 BY Nettwerk

Today, Seattle artist SYML shares a new song titled “The Dark.” Brian Fennell wrote and produced the song with additional contributions from long time collaborator Brian Eichelberger, Kyle Ryan, and James Mcalister and Kyle Resnick from The National’s touring band. It was mixed by Grammy-winning engineer Joe Visciano (Earl Sweatshirt, Kelsey Lu).

Fennell explains, “I wanted to share this song earlier than I was planning. I’m not even sure if this will be the final version of it, but I think it’s special and applies to what we are all experiencing as humans. My darkness looks different than yours, but we feel it in similar ways. Thankfully, I am loved by a wife and kids whose love shines bright.

I don’t believe we are meant to be alone, but that doesn’t change the fact that we often are. If this song finds you alone, I hope it walks with you.”


SYML’s 2019 self-titled debut record featuring the Platinum Certified single “Where’s My Love,” landed at #5 on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart and was praised by NPR as being “amazing” and “fantastic.” SYML toured his EPs and debut album for two years playing festivals from Pukkelpop and Rock Werchter to Haldern Pop and Outside Lands Festival and spent the beginning of 2020 supporting Dermot Kennedy in the U.S. and Canada. In April, SYML covered the George Harrison tune “Here Comes The Sun” for a Nike China ad campaign.

“The Dark” Credits:

Brian Fennell – vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, synths, vibraphone, additional percussion
Brian Eichelberger – organ
Kyle Ryan – electric guitar
James Mcalister – percussion
Kyle Resnick – trumpet and flugelhorn
Mixed by Joe Visciano
Mastered by Levi Seitz