St. Lucia Shares EP Details + Shares Video For Retro-Pop Track, “Another Lifetime”

March 25, 2022 BY Penny Palmer

On the aptly titled Utopia I EP, St. Lucia beams out a light of its own and shines brighter than ever. Equal parts colorful disco, 70s funk, and 80s pop, the EP is a luminous palette of synths, pulsating with vibrant sonics that has come to characterize their genre-defying career.

Today, St. Lucia follows the first single, “Rocket On My Feet,” with a euphoric, retro-pop track, “Another Lifetime.” “It’s about feeling the rhythm of life, almost like the force in Star Wars, Jean-Philip reveals. The duo reunites with director and animator Lauren Haug as part of a concept series. Honored to replicate and incorporate the cover art produced by artist Ryan Miller, Haug drew from retro-inspired color palettes and took inspiration from the 1973 sci-f film Fantastic Planet and Hayao Miyazaki.

Led by husband-and-wife duo South Africa-born Jean-Philip Grobler and Germany-born Patti Beranek, St. Lucia’snew music retreats from a fractured world on fire and into the glow of a rapturous synth-spiked electro-pop catharsis—akin to a dance party at the edge of existence.

“We’re so happy to be releasing our new EP, Utopia I, which is the first chapter of a larger body of work,” Grobler shares. “Utopia is such an interesting concept for us because, on the surface, it seems like a good idea, but striving for it almost always seems to lead to something terrible. We’ve learned that true perfection lies in embracing imperfection. Our new music explores this concept and tries to make sense of what happened in the world over the last few years. It also clearly marks a moment where we chose to be positive about the future and keep our gaze towards the sky.”

Watch The Official Music Video For “Another Lifetime” HERE:

Jean-Philip wrote and recorded at a feverish pace. They enlisted trusted collaborator Chris Zane [Passion Pit, The Walkmen] to button up their first new music in four years.

Patti concludes, “I feel really proud of the EP. I think there is purity in it that you can’t really describe. You have to listen and feel it. I think that this comes from having another child, being parents, and being thrown into a weird time in our lives. It unleashes things, and I think we did a good job capturing that.”

Stay tuned in the coming weeks for more music. In the meantime, “Another Lifetime” is available at all digital retailers here:

Track List:

  1. ()
  2. Separate World
  3. Another Lifetime
  4. Rocket On My Feet
  5. The Golden Age
  6. Memory
EP Cover Art by Ryan Miller | Download HERE

About St. Lucia:
St. Lucia has stayed faithful to what they’re best at, putting on incredible live shows everywhere from Coachella to Kansas City, producing shimmery synth-driven pop grooves, and having a damn good time doing what they love. St. Lucia has always stirred good vibes. It started with their debut album, When The Night, which entered the Billboard Top 200 and hit #6 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Album chart. The follow-up album, Matter, yielded the hit “Dancing On Glass,” while the band collaborated with Jack Antonoff, RAC and others. Two years later, Hyperion represented a creative and critical high watermark with praise from Billboard, who hailed the album as “buoyant,” and PopMatters who raved, “it feels revelatory.” St. Lucia beams out a light of their own and shines brighter than ever with their latest EP, Utopia I (out April 29 via Nettwerk).