Singer-Songwriter Mark Wilkinson Announces New EP ‘Golden Afternoons’ + Shares Impassioned New Song “Promises”

October 6, 2023 BY Emma Orland

Today, Australian troubadour Mark Wilkinson is proud to announce his forthcoming EP release Golden Afternoons due out on January 12th via Nettwerk. Produced in Nashville alongside producer Owen Lewis (Paris Paloma, Old Sea Brigade, Snow Patrol), expands upon the themes of his 2022 release Mariposa as Mark juxtaposes uncertainty with confidence for the future. It’s full of vulnerability both lyrically and musically with sparse instrumentation giving way to Mark’s intimate vocals. He shares another sneak peak with the passionate single “Promises,” co-written with Old Sea Brigade’s Ben Cramer. It’s available to stream on all digital retailers (here).

Mark explains, “Promises is written about taking risks, getting out of your comfort zone and allowing yourself to fail. It’s about recognizing that some of the best things in life creatively or otherwise come from pushing yourself and being uncomfortable. Essentially the message behind the song is ‘Don’t die wondering’. Trust yourself, commit and don’t be afraid to fuck it up.”

“Promises” follows “Fair-Weather Friend,” “Taking Our Time,” and “Time Floats Away,” which will all appear on Mark’s new EP Golden Afternoons.

Listen & Share “Promises” Here:


Life never follows a linear road. Rather, it often forks as we do our best to keep pace in the middle. Mark Wilkinson treads this path in his music. He acknowledges hardship and darkness, only to step into the embrace of the light. The Sydney-based singer and songwriter acutely details this journey through relatable storytelling and hummable songcraft. By considering and understanding life’s extremes from the middle, he gets closer to himself on his new EP, Golden Afternoons.

“The EP explores the fine line between light and dark as well as confidence and uncertainty, which are the two states I’m constantly between as an artist and songwriter,” he admits. “Each song touches on these themes as they float through this body of work. It’s a reflection of the balancing act.”

After building an international profile by bringing his music directly to the people as a popular busker, he has creatively leveled up with each successive release. He captivated audiences with the likes of Let The River Run [2013], Hand Picked, Vol. 2 [2015], Wasted Hours [2018], and Blue Eyed Girls [2019]. Along the way, he catapulted to #1 on the Australian Independent Charts and sold in excess of 80,000 units. Since the release of 2022’s Mariposa EP, he’s impressively racked up millions of streams on Spotify and garnered support from Americana Highways, The Bluegrass Situation, and The Wild Is Calling who said, “We see star power and mainstream potential in the spirit of Mumford and Sons, Mt. Joy, or the Lumineers. Standout single “Grafton St” also found fans at SiriusXM Coffeehouse.

This time around, he changed up the process. Mark decamped to Nashville, TN where he recorded what would become Golden Afternoons with producer Owen Lewis (Paris Paloma, Old Sea Brigade, Snow Patrol) in just two weeks.

“It was my first time making a project in Nashville,” he reveals. “It was exciting to see the whole thing come together over a short period and work with some amazing musicians. It progresses from the previous EP—which was made in a space of the end of the Pandemic and not knowing anything about what was going to happen. This music comes out of that period with confidence, trying to trust yourself and looking forward to a brighter tomorrow.”


“Sometimes you catch a voice that makes your heart just soar, and Mark Wilkinson has one of those voices.  So emotive, so moving…”

– Americana Highways

 “…a sense of nostalgia mixed with an optimism about the future…”

– The Bluegrass Situation

“Wilkinson has a reminiscent sound of Ed Sheeran’s early days, and a Ray LaMontagne-style soul. Blending these elements together with his unique story-telling ability, the singer creates a sonic experience to move you to tears.”

– Music Mecca

“…showcasing Wilkinson’s powerful vocal performance… he tells the story of an embattled soul searching for happiness as he recounts the ups and downs of his own life.”

– Variance Magazine

“We see star power and mainstream potential in the spirit of Mumford and Sons, Mt. Joy, or the Lumineers.” 

– The Wild Is Calling

Download EP Artwork Here

Track List:

01. Taking Our Time
02. Movie Scene
03. Promises
04. Time Floats Away
05. The Road to Your Heart
06. Fair-Weather Friend
07. Embrace The Ride