San Cisco Reveal New Anthem “Summer Days” Featuring Pond’s Nicholas Allbrook

January 19, 2024 BY Emma Orland

Australian indie titans San Cisco share their euphoric and anthemic new single “Summer Days,” featuring long term collaborator and good friend Nicholas Allbrook (POND). The track offers a delicate balance between euphoria and melancholy and is another glimpse into a new era of maturity and vulnerability that shines throughout their forthcoming album, Under The Light. Listen HERE and watch HERE.

Written as an ode to the emotional turmoil and absolute rollercoaster that comes when overthinking the ‘what ifs’ of life and what could have been. “Experiencing loss isn’t just about reflecting on the past, it’s also about mourning what the future could have been, that future can be as big or small as your heart desires filling whatever hole was left inside you,” the band explains. “Standing on the rooftop of a tall building in a city filled with things that feel nothing like home on an evening engineered for celebrating love at the strike of midnight, the mark of a new year and a new beginning. But where do you fit into it all now they’re gone?” Inspired by the big anthemic, rock-arena choruses crafted by the likes of Robbie Williams, San Cisco invited fellow Fremantle artist, longtime collaborator and good friend Nicholas Allbrook (POND) to join them on the chorus for “Summer Days,” delivering one of the highest soaring choruses in the band’s career. 

To celebrate the release of the new single, San Cisco have also released the music video for “Summer Days” – a continuation of the music video for “High.” Shot on location in NSW’s Blue Mountains and directed by mastermind Levi Cranston, the video for “High” set the scene of a typical, innocent love story that slowly started to unravel into something much more sinister as the video clip went on, leaving off on a cliffhanger. “There’s something insidious about this cheesy love story,” Cranston shared. “Perhaps all that warm, glowing, spinning, slow-motion stuff is true love; don’t they look happy? Don’t look too hard at the cold rain and the crows and the red tide. Forget about that. That will come later.”

The official video clip for “Summer Days” picks up on everything left unanswered in the previous installment. Opening with cameo’s from the band, who take on the role of brainwashers in the lab, as the video clip continues on the warm, glowing, spinning scenes are revealed to be much colder, devious and falsified. 

Under The Light Tracklisting:

  1. Lost Without You
  2. High
  3. Under The Light
  4. One Percent
  5. Summer Days
  6. Honeycomb
  7. Find Yourself Here Again
  8. Horoscope
  9. Family Trust
  10. Consequence
  11. Into My Heart

Set for release on March 1st, San Cisco’s fifth studio album Under The Light sees the trio enter a new phase of maturity, vulnerability and experimentation both musically and lyrically, a record that “truly embodies the genuine essence of San Cisco.” Spending the first half of the year deep in studio sessions split between LA and Fremantle recording Under The Light, the forthcoming record is a collaborative work with producer James Ireland (PondCuco) and mixed by Grammy award winning engineer Neal H. Pogue (Steve LacyTyler The CreatorOutkast) and Anthony Dolhai (Carly Rae JepsenKesha), and features collaborations with Tame Impala & POND members Jay Watson and Nicholas Allbrook. “Collaborating with our close friend and producer, James Ireland, was an exciting and fresh journey that allowed us to fully actualize our musical aspirations. The album was predominantly written and recorded in our studio, kitchens, and living rooms at home in Fremantle” the band explain. “This unique experience was unlike anything we’ve undertaken before, and we couldn’t be prouder of this body of work.”

Featuring recent singles “Lost Without You,” “Horoscope,” ‘Honeycomb,” “High” and album title track “Under The Light,” the forthcoming record delves into new sonic territories we’ve yet to hear from the band, introducing elements such as string sections, electronic, garage and house music. It’s the sound of a beloved bastion of indie-pop emerging, growing, and contorting as they explore new collaborations, instrumentation, and songwriting techniques. Pre-order Under The Light HERE.

Hailing from Fremantle, Western Australia, throughout their illustrious ten-year career indie-pop three-piece San Cisco have become one of Australia’s most successful independent artists amassing multiple accolades. Garnering millions of streams and critical acclaim through the release of four studio albums, San Cisco have toured the world selling out headline shows and appearing at festivals such as Splendour In The Grass, Lollapalooza, Reading & Leeds and many more. San Cisco’s fourth studio album Between You and Me in late 2020 –  an album two years and at least one sadly remembered love affair in the making – reached top three in the ARIA Album Charts and featured leading Hottest 100 charting singles ‘When I Dream’, ‘Skin’, festival anthem ‘Reasons’ and ‘On The Line’. Album five on its way in 2024. 

Renowned for their high-energy live show, San Cisco have taken the stage recently Bass In The Grass (NT), Dream Machine (Bali), Be Social Fest (QLD), Melbourne’s Formula 1 Grand Prix (VIC) and the Singapore Formula 1 Grand Prix, as well as headlining the FIFA Fan Festival in Adelaide (SA) in 2023. With no signs of slowing down, following the release of Under The Light San Cisco will be taking their new album global, kicking off their UK & European headline tour in May of this year.