San Cisco Release New Studio Album ‘Under The Light’

March 1, 2024 BY Emma Orland

“There’s no shortage of melodic hooks, but they’re underpinned by an inviting sense of patience.” – Rolling Stone

“Credit to the trio whose shared vision is perfectly aligned.” – NME

“Australian indie powerhouse” – Wonderland

“San Cisco are characteristically unafraid to look at life through a more complex lens.” – Atwood

Today, Australian indie royalty San Cisco have released their highly anticipated album, Under The Light. The album strikes a delicate balance between euphoria and melancholy, seeing the trio enter a new phase of maturity, vulnerability and experimentation both musically and lyrically. Listen HERE.

Spending the majority of 2023 deep in studio sessions split between LA and Fremantle, Under The Light is a collaborative work with producer James Ireland (PondCuco) and mixed by Grammy award winning engineer Neal H. Pogue (Steve LacyTyler The CreatorOutkast) and Anthony Dolhai (Carly Rae JepsenKesha), and features collaborations with Tame Impala & POND members Jay Watson and Nicholas Allbrook. “Collaborating with our close friend and producer, James Ireland, was an exciting and fresh journey that allowed us to fully actualise our musical aspirations. The album was predominantly written and recorded in our studio, kitchens, and living rooms at home in Fremantle” the band explain.“This unique experience was unlike anything we’ve undertaken before, and we couldn’t be prouder of this body of work.”

Under The Light is the sound of a beloved bastion of indie-pop emerging, growing, and contorting as San Cisco explores new collaborations, instrumentation, and songwriting techniques. Thematically, the album title could just as well be referring to the endless blue of a West Australian summer as a dentist’s chair or interrogation room, as we see the band more emotionally exposed than ever before. Face-to-face with the cruelty of a changing world, San Cisco searches for meaning, stares down the moral ambiguities of adulthood and relationships, and sings a sun-speckled song to human kindness.

Under The Light Tracklisting:

  1. Lost Without You
  2. High
  3. Under The Light
  4. One Percent
  5. Summer Days
  6. Honeycomb
  7. Find Yourself Here Again
  8. Horoscope
  9. Family Trust
  10. Consequence
  11. Into My Heart

Hailing from Fremantle, Western Australia, throughout their illustrious ten-year career indie-pop three-piece San Cisco have become one of Australia’s most successful independent artists amassing multiple accolades. Garnering millions of streams and critical acclaim through the release of four studio albums, San Cisco have toured the world selling out headline shows and appearing at festivals such as Splendour In The Grass, Lollapalooza, Reading & Leeds and many more. San Cisco’s fourth studio album Between You and Me in late 2020 –  an album two years and at least one sadly remembered love affair in the making – reached top three in the ARIA Album Charts and featured leading Hottest 100 charting singles ‘When I Dream’, ‘Skin’, festival anthem ‘Reasons’ and ‘On The Line’. Album five on its way in 2024. 

Renowned for their high-energy live show, San Cisco have taken the stage recently Bass In The Grass (NT), Dream Machine (Bali), Be Social Fest (QLD), Melbourne’s Formula 1 Grand Prix (VIC) and the Singapore Formula 1 Grand Prix, as well as headlining the FIFA Fan Festival in Adelaide (SA) in 2023. With no signs of slowing down, following the release of Under The Light San Cisco will be taking their new album global, kicking off their UK & European headline tour in May of this year.