Roses & Revolutions Shares Details To ‘Keep a Light On’ EP (Out Sept 23); Listen To “Something Real”

June 27, 2022 BY Penny Palmer

In their gorgeous new ballad “Something Real,” released today via Nettwerk, the indie-pop duo Roses & Revolutions reflect on the feeling of alienation and disconnection they experienced during the lockdown, and the longing to return to the road. “We did so many shows and sessions on the computer, we were never in the same room with anyone,” Matt explains. “Once we got back into nature the experience of something real was the basis for the track.” It’s the latest single from the band’s 6-song EP ‘Keep A Little Light On,’ out September 23rd. Watch the lyric video for “Something Real” HERE.

Revisiting their past year as if it were a film – with each significant event serving the role of a scene where actions and reactions propel the story forward – the band’s new EP finds them scoring life’s ups, downs, and everything in between with blissful melodies, delicate soundscapes, and eloquent songcraft. Featuring captivating, big screen-worthy hooks and immersive indie-pop production, the EP unfolds like a short film noir that sticks with you long after it’s done. “We were reading a lot of books and watching a ton of movies, so we approached this like we were writing a fictional film,” guitarist Matt Merritt explains. “Something Real” follows the release of the EP’s lush lead single “Brightside Of Me,” about “a character who has everything stacked against them but always looks for the bright side in a situation.”

Called “spellbinding” by Atwood and “musical alchemists” by American Songwriter, Matt and vocalist Alyssa Coco first connected through music, playing in various local bands until it became apparent that there was a special creative alchemy between the two. They gained traction with their hit single “The Pines,” leading to 11 million+ streams, a headlining tour, and syncs from virtually every network. But when lockdown threatened to deflate the momentum they had built, the duo took the opportunity to explore a new way of making music, turning their dark experience into a thing of beauty.

“We all go through shit, but there’s light and hope at the end of the tunnel,” reveals Alyssa. “We strive for being at peace with ourselves and where we are in our lives. Over the last couple of years, everyone has spent a lot of time self-reflecting. Our music has always leaned into the darkness to a degree. This is the first time we’ve gone towards brightness. We’re more at peace, and the music shows.”

“A lot of times we write songs for the stage, but for ‘Keep a Little Light On,’ we were like, ‘Let’s write this EP for a movie we’d want to see,’” Matt adds. “If our lives were portrayed on screen, this would be the soundtrack.”

Since emerging in 2017, Roses & Revolutions have consistently mesmerized and enchanted audiences. Sharing music at a prolific pace, they unveiled the ‘Under the Spell’ EP, ‘Covers’ EP, and ‘Midnight Monsters’ EP over the last two years. The latter included the popular collaboration “Coffee feat. Lostboycrow.” Along the way, SPIN raved, “the Rochester, New York-based duo make truly beautiful music,” and FLAUNT Magazine urged, “prepare to fall in love.” Throughout 2021, they assembled what would become ‘Keep a Little Light On.’ Representing another first, they recorded and produced the entire project in their home studio.

“In the past, we would usually demo at home and then go into a studio with a producer,” Matt recalls. “Now, we were like, ‘Alright, we’re doing this on our own.’ It was the two of us at home being creative at any time we wanted—day or night.”

“We hope the songs brighten your day,” he concludes. “Since we were at home most of the past two years, it was everything to us. We’re just grateful for people to hear it.”

Stay tuned for continued updates.

Keep a Little Light On Track List

1. Worry
2. Here with You
3. Brightside of Me
4. Something Real
5. Be Like You
6. Moon Song

Single Art | Download HERE