Producer/Instrumentalist Oatmello Rocks Lofi World with ‘Sanctuary’ LP

October 28, 2022 BY Jason Currell

Today, Portland-based producer and multi-faceted creative Oatmello shares his new album Sanctuary. The 15-track project marks his first LP release with Nettwerk.

One of the first Lofi artists to gain traction on Soundcloud and develop the sound of the genre today, Oatmello blends elements of jazz, ambient, hip hop, and electronic into a dream-like, introspective experience that has accumulated over 250M streams worldwide. Envisioned as an antidote to our current world of attention-demanding media, constant notifications, and building anxiety, Oatmello sees his music as a continuation of the decades-long tradition of instrumental hip-hop.

Sanctuary arrives on the heels of months of weekly singles, which have seen phenomenal results. In total, the singles preceding the project have amassed over 4.1 million streams, with 3.8 million coming from Spotify. Multiple tracks have hit the number one spot on Spotify’s “lofi beats” playlist (4.7M likes). 

Nearly every song on Sanctuary features piano as the lead instrument, which Oatmello did intentionally. The album’s tendency toward free-flowing compositions allowed Oatmello to put his piano-playing talents on center stage.

“When coming up with the concept of the album from a musical standpoint, I reflected on the lofi albums which I enjoy the most and the ones that have stood the test of time,” he shares. “The commonality is that they rely on a solo instrumentation (whether that is guitar or piano or synth), along with a sense of minimalism to the production.“

Sanctuary is available at digital retailers here:


01. Wo Ai Ni

02. Community

03. You and I Will Always Be

04. Watercolors

05. Lucid Dream

06. Thicket

07. Twenty Bucks

08. A Future Vision

09. All Beings United

10. Each Moment More Than the Last

11. Telekinetic

12. Best to Find a Way

13. Goodbyes

14. Simplicity

15. Alice and the Sea

Photo Courtesy of Nettwerk | Download HERE: