Passenger Announces New Album ‘Runaway’ Out August 31

May 29, 2018 BY Nettwerk

Following the release of new single “Hell Or High Water,” UK singer/songwriter Passenger (Mike Rosenberg) has announced his new album Runaway is set for release on August 31, 2018. Runaway, available for pre-order HERE, was recorded between the UK and Australia, but its aesthetic is North American, thanks in large part to his American father who organized trips back to the States every other summer while Mike was growing up in Brighton, UK.  While some songs point to specific locations such as Yellowstone or Detroit, Mike imagined all the new songs unfolding against a backdrop of American landscapes, which led to a month long road trip across the U.S. to create a series of live acoustic versions of each album track, and videos to match.

The gorgeous video for “Hell Or High Water” was shot over a few days across various national and state parks, including Monument Valley, Valley of Fire, Death Valley and Joshua Tree.  Says Rosenberg, “These epic and vast landscapes really help to portray a feeling of being lost in a hopeless quest for answers.”

Sonically, too, Runaway draws on Americana more so than past Passenger albums. There is some lap steel, some mandolin, a little banjo, all courtesy of guitarist Benjamin Edgar. Rosenberg is also joined on the album by bassist Rob Calder, drummer Peter Marin and keyboard player Jon Hansen. 
Listen/Watch + Share “Hell Or High Water”:

Watch Passenger Perform “Hell Or High Water” Acoustic In Santa Monica, CA:

Passenger will be appearing at a slew of summer festivals across the globe, with North American stops at Newport Folk Festival, Festival D’Ete International, Winnipeg Folk Festival, Calgary Folk Festival, BluesFest, Vancouver Island Folk Festival, and LL Bean Summer Series. Details on a North American headline tour are expected in the coming weeks.

Runaway follows 2016’s Young As The Morning Old As The Sea, which debuted at #1 in the U.K, Australia, New Zealand and Switzerland, and saw Passenger play his largest headline tour to date, with a total audience of over 1.4 Million across 29 countries, 97 gigs and 23 busking shows, including 13,500 people at Amsterdam’s ZiggoDome. 

Passenger gained worldwide recognition with breakout, multi-Platinum single “Let Her Go” (2012), which went #1 in 19 countries and today has 780+ Million worldwide streams and just under 2 Billion YouTube views.

Stay tuned for many more announcements from Passenger in the coming weeks…

Runaway Track Listing:

1. Hell Or High Water

2. Why Can’t I Change

3. Heart To Love

4. Let’s Go

5. He Leaves You Cold

6. Ghost Town

7. Runaway

8. Eagle Bear Buffalo

9. To Be Free

10. Survivors

11. Survivors (Live from Jedediah Smith Redwood State Park, CA)

12. To Be Free (Live from Dauphin Rd, Vineland, NJ)

13.  Eagle Bear Buffalo (Live from Canaan Mountain Wilderness Area, UT)

14.  Runaway (Live from Joshua Tree National Park, CA)

15. Ghost Town (Live from Michigan Theatre, Detroit, MI)

16. He Leaves You Cold (Live from Unityville, PA)

17. Let’s Go (Live from Trough Rd, State Bridge, CO)

18. Heart To Love (Live from a Rooftop in Manhattan, NY)

19. Why Can’t I Change (Live from Tahkenitch Landing Campground, Gardiner, OR)

20. Hell Or High Water (Live from Santa Monica Beach, CA)

Passenger North American Summer Festivals:

Thur, July 5    Ottawa, ON @ BluesFest

Fri, July 6       Quebec, QC @ Festival D’Été International

Sun July 8       Winnipeg, MB @ Winnipeg Folk Festival

Sat, July 14     Vancouver, BC @ Vancouver Island Folk Festival

Thur, July 26  Calgary, AB @ Calgary Folk Music Festival

Sat, July 28     Freeport, ME @ LL Bean Summer Series

Sun, July 29    Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival

Click HERE for a full list of Passenger tour dates.