On ‘Dreaming Hills’ LP, German Platinum Producer Shuko Throws It Back to the 90s

February 3, 2023 BY Jason Currell

Today, multi-platinum, Grammy nominated music producer and songwriter Shuko shares his latest LP, Dreaming Hills, out via Nettwerk. The 10-track album is heavily influenced by the sounds of California jazz, R&B and rap. As Shuko puts it: “Hip-hop meets jazz and 90s nostalgia with a modern twist.”

“Many of these early demos,” adds Shuko on the creation of Dreaming Hills, “were crafted while working heavily to send tracks over to Anderson .Paak and Kanye West. I decided to use some of the samples that didn’t get placed to embark on a journey to produce a whole album.”

One look at the German producer’s discography reveals an artist with serious longevity in a multitude of genres. He’s produced on mega-hits with .Paak (“JEWELZ”) and Zara Larsson (“Lush Life”) and but has also worked with underground rap legends like Papoose (“Be So Cold”) and just last year, teenage abstract rapper redveil (“morphine”). 

With Dreaming Hills, Shuko steps firmly into the spotlight, not just as a producer and songwriter, but as a curator. The German artist displays a knack for mixing and matching rappers and singers over his production in a project that’s sure to attract a robust variety of fans.

Dreaming Hills is available at digital retailers here: https://shuko.ffm.to/dreaminghills

Album Artwork | Download HERE

Dreaming Hills Tracklist

01. Ocean Walk

02. In the Mood (with Jaz Lund & Chuuwee)

03. Dreaming Hills (with Ruck P)

04. Overload (with Chuck Inglish & KESMAR)

05. Hiking (with Kimmø)

06. Sunset Ride (with Casey Veggies & Sarah Evelyn)

07. How Long (with Nia Wyn, Pete Philly & Keymer)

08. Huntington Garden (with Saib)

09. Amor de Otoño

10. Silver Rays (with Ay Wing)