Night Tapes herald new EP with dreamy single “Selene”

March 17, 2023 BY Jason Currell

DIY dream pop trio Night Tapes return with their luscious new single ‘Selene’, out 17th March on Nettwerk.

A shimmering soundscape filled with beguiling vocal hooks, “Selene” is the lead single from the band’s upcoming third EP Perfect Kindness, which drops later this year, and precedes their debut outing at this year’s SXSW Festival in Austin, Texas.

Listen + Share “Selene” below:

“Selene” pairs a warm, silky bassline with a minimalist drum loop, as lead singer Iiris Vesik’s sugary vocals pay tribute to the titular character Selene, a Moon Goddess in ancient Greece who pulled the Moon across the sky. “She’s only perfect cos she’s far away/in the spaces in between you can be anything”, Vesik sings on a lilting chorus that sails away on a bed of harmonies. Originating from a dream that band member Sam Richards had, the track is “about chasing an ideal version of oneself”, the trio says.

Complementing its lush production, “Selene” is also expertly mixed by Nathan Boddy, who has worked with the likes of PinkPantheressJames BlakeMura Masa and London Grammar, and mastered by Matt Colton, who has worked with Flying Lotus, Flume and Brian Eno amongst others.

Night Tapes started out as evening jams between housemates Max DoohanSam Richards and Iiris Vesik in London. Night-time London, genre-blending, multi-fidelity recordings and honest reflection contribute to their atmospheric soundscapes that ultimately make for fresh and envelope-pushing dream pop. Night Tapes take inspiration from both their lived experience in the world that they can see and touch, as well as the less tangible spiritual and metaphysical realm.

To date, the band have released two EPs: Dream Forever In Glorious Stereo and Download Spirit. Their debut single Forever has reached over five million plays, and their music has been championed by publications such as TurtlenekPaste MagazinePigeons & PlanesDUMMYAt The BarrierDavid Dean Burkhart and Majestic Casual channels. Having signed to Nettwerk Music Group in 2022, Night Tapes will release their third EP Perfect Kindness later this year and have been invited to perform at SXSW in March.

“Selene” invites listeners to step into Night Tapes’ dream-like world – a world that promises to expand on their upcoming EP Perfect Kindness.

Night Tapes joins Nettwerk’s expanding label roster, which also includes Vök and LEISURE. Stay tuned for more details about upcoming release plans by following the band on socials.

Perfect Kindness – EP tracklist:
1. Selene
2. Humans
3. Inigo
4. Moonrise
5. Perfect Kindness
6. Silent Song