Nettwerk & Cosmo Kuma Announce New Lofi Beatcamp Compilation Project

March 1, 2024 BY Bailey Vigliaturo

Today, Nettwerk Music Group and its lofi brand Cosmo Kuma officially announce their first-ever lofi compilation album Cosmo Kuma Presents – Beatcamp Vol. 1: Los Angeles, out everywhere April 26. Each track from the compilation was recorded at last summer’s inaugural Cosmo Kuma beatcamp, a generative and empowering union of beatmakers, multi-instrumentalists and vocalists.

Seeking to challenge the perception of lofi as an “online genre,” the Cosmo Kuma beatcamp invited a group of 20 artists to create without inhibitions in a secluded Malibu location. The result: a collection of innovation, freshness and just good music—a lofi project you’ve never heard the likes of before.

“The whole beat retreat experience was so inspiring,” shared producer/harpist Sara Kawai, “working with people I haven’t worked with before and even with people I’ve looked up to as producers. Looking out into the Malibu ocean was just a plus, but the people and experiences made it all so memorable.”

Taking place over three days with three-hour sessions on three different floors of a Malibu rental, the camp led to the creation of nearly 60 songs, with 16 making the final cut. Some were made in a bathroom, some on vintage Japanese mics, and some simply on iPhones on balconies overlooking a glittering harvest moon. 

“My favorite part of it was sharing all our music at the end of the day and listening to all the amazing music the artists made,” added instrumentalist Shaan Chhadva, who makes music as Ornithology and also played a role in organizing the camp. “It felt like a community, and I was happy to be a part of it.”

Lofi artist/photographer takeo had a special involvement with the camp, getting hands-on in some sessions as a beatmaker and filming others as a documentarian.  takeo took hundreds of photos and videos of the camp and crafted visuals for each song on the compilation.

“It was an absolute pleasure and unique experience to take photo and video content for the beatcamp as well as making music with so many talented artists,” he shared. “With four to five sessions happening at the same time, each session had its own unique vibe with different types of music in each one.”

“Soleil” Single Art | Download HERE

Also today, Cosmo Kuma unveils “Soleil,” a collaborative single from producer/3D designer ROHO, singer/beatmaker omniboi and beatmaker Aso. A jazzy instrumental with timeless drum kicks, “Soleil” also contains warm strings courtesy of Annie Elise. “Soleil” marks the seventh single from the compilation; singles will be released weekly until the full project’s arrival.

For the more sophisticated consumer, Nettwerk and Cosmo Kuma have partnered with monthly vinyl subscription club Vinyl Moon for an exclusive vinyl release for the album. Every week leading up to the official release, Cosmo Kuma and Vinyl Moon will be giving away one free vinyl to lucky fans who presave the album. Fans will be able to preorder the vinyl HERE starting Monday, March 4. Stay tuned for more compilation updates.

“Soleil” is available at all digital retailers here:

Beatcamp, Vol.1: Los Angeles Tracklist

01 ROHO & frumhere & juniorodeo – Parachute (feat. Joe Nora)

02. Smile High & takeo & Somni – Malibu

03. SCayos & Kevitch & Sara Kawai – Wild Thoughts

04. Cloudchord & omniboi & Annie Elise – Standing by the Ocean (feat. Joe Nora) 

05. ROHO & takeo & Sara Kawai – Sunsplash

06. Shrimpnose & Cloudchord & Nomé Naku – Malibu Bossa (feat. Joe Nora)

07. ROHO & omniboi & Aso – Soleil (feat. Annie Elise)

08. Cloudchord – Bathroom Break

09. Oatmello & Smile High & Sara Kawai – Dolphin (feat. juniorodeo)

10. SCayos & Somni & Annie Elise – I’m Tired… 

11. takeo & frumhere & Enluv – Sunroom

12. Shrimpnose & ROHO & juniorodeo – Sunshowers (feat. Somni)

13. Oatmello & Cloudchord & Aso – In My Presence

14. ROHO & Shrimpnose & Somni – Snake Charmer (feat. juniorodeo)

15. Oatmello & omniboi & takeo – Spa Day (feat. Joe Nora)

16. Ornithology & ROHO & juniorodeo – Walk Out Music