machineheart Announces Debut Album ‘People Change’ Coming February 8 + New Song “Let You Down”

October 15, 2018 BY Nettwerk

“machineheart’s ‘Let You Down’ Is An Absolute Stormer” — Clash

“The four-piece are an electrifying live proposition, with their taut yet ethereal songwriting matched to incredible charisma.” — Clash

“A lushly and lavishly mesmeric cascade of ethereal rock and jangly pop that sounds kind of like Lykke Li gone Stevie Nicks.” — I Heart Moosiq

LA’s machineheart make music of stunningly emotional depth.” — BlackBook

“Their brand of ethereal indie pop … is brooding, pensive, yet anthemic. There is a grandiose element to it all, largely thanks to magnetic frontwoman’s compelling vocal stylings and the band’s knack for enthralling instrumental experimentation.” — Ones To Watch

Los Angeles-based ethereal indie pop quartet machineheart have announced details regarding their anticipated full-length debut. People Change is set for release on February 8, 2019, and today the band shares the gorgeous orchestral lament “Let You Down,” the first song they penned for the new album, which premiered via Clash.  To celebrate the announcement of People Change, machineheart will play a special LA show next Wednesday, October 24th at Madame Siam (free with RSVP).



People Change was co-produced by Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys, Adele) and recorded between Los Angeles, Seattle-area and Toronto. From quite introspection to lush soundscapes, the album explores how emotional dissonance can yield beauty.

Of “Let You Down,” frontwoman Stevie Scott says, “I think ‘Let You Down’ really set the scene for the overall direction of the album. When we wrote it, the emotions were right under the surface and it only took 30 minutes. It was one of those magic music moments you wait for. And it perfectly encapsulated how we were feeling right then in that moment; raw and tender. I still get teary when I let myself really, truly listen to it- to let it just swallow me up and envelop me. It’s beautiful and gentle and sad all at once.”

machineheart–rounded out by Harrison Allen (drums), Carman Kubanda (electric guitar) and Jake Randle (bass)–released their debut EP “Cruel World” in 2017 and lit up the scene with their infectious, alternative sounds. Soon they were a Top 5 Spotify Emerging Artist and named one of NME’s “2017 Break-Out Bands.” Today, the EP has close to 50 million combined streams.

People Change is available to pre-order here:

People Change Track Listing:
Who Said
Do You Love
People Change
Peace of Mind
Had a Dream
Lost Time
Kill a Man
Let You Down