Lydia Luce Releases New Single & Video “(H)our Glass”; New Album ‘Florida Girl’ out 10/27

September 29, 2023 BY Danielle Romeo

Lydia Luce, Nashville based singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist today released “(h)our glass,” the latest single to her spellbinding upcoming album, Florida Girl, out October 27 via Nettwerk – Listen HERE and watch the music video, directed by HERE.

On “(h)our glass,” Lydia’s ethereal vocals meditate on mindfulness, against a swirling soundtrack of atmospheric guitar, percussion, and cello. “This song is about trying to stay in the present moment.” Stated Lydia, adding, “It’s about trying to let go of the past and of any future expectations. It’s also about working to stay with our present emotions whether they are good or bad. Letting the emotions come and go without becoming attached to them.”

Florida Girl is a collection of modern pop painted with sophisticated ambient and vintage textures. A shapeshifting soundscape of moody guitar tones, resplendent piano melodies, echoing tape loop and gossamer strings all blending to create an elegant array of soft-rock, chill wave, psychedelic indie folk, and electronica. Luce’s compelling yet calming vocals hypnotize with mantras of self-acceptance, and making peace, even with her home state, Florida.

“In my 20’s I didn’t like telling people that I was from Florida because I don’t always align with the politics. Now that I’m learning to accept all aspects of myself, I realize that I loved growing up in South Florida. It’s made me who I am. Naming the album Florida Girl is another layer of that acceptance.”

The new album experienced a sonic change that was partially inspired by Luce’s experimental project from the pandemic, Lethe. “During the pandemic we had an intense ice storm in Nashville,” says Luce, “I decided to explore an ambient project while stuck in the house. I produced and recorded an EP under the name ‘Lethe.’ Using my violin, viola, electric guitar and voice I got to explore and experiment with zero direction or perimeters.

After this experience, I knew I wanted to approach my next record in a similar vein. With Aaron and Anthony, we explored sounds each day in the studio. This was such a new experience for me. We used tape loops and added sounds from my underwater scuba diving videos. There is a lot of that similar ambient vibe in the writing and recording of ‘Florida Girl’. During this time Aaron introduced me to Feist’s record, Pleasure, which I became very inspired by. This record to me also feels very explorative.”

Luce grew up in a strict musical household where her mother was a professional conductor and did not present learning the violin as a choice. After graduating from Berklee College of Music, she briefly worked at world-music label Smithsonian Folkways Records, before relocating to Nashville and establishing herself as an in-demand session musician playing viola and violin for country legends like Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson and hip-hop superstar Eminem. Luce leads Lockeland Strings, a community arts organization and showcase of local artists (which included country superstar Kacey Musgraves) accompanied by string quartet arrangements, alongside performances of new contemporary classical pieces from local composers.

Florida Girl offers tales of appreciation of the beautiful world we inhabit and dedication towards tending to the garden of relationships, whether it is learning to navigate turbulence in friendship, marriage or her shifting sense of self. Radiant meditations share her journey toward true self-love, overcoming issues with alcohol and body dysmorphia that are personal yet will inspire us to listen to the voice deep within that knows the way.

“The record is about true acceptance. Acceptance of my present self and my past self, of life and death, of my emotions both the good and bad. My 30s so far have come with a ton of reflection. There were so many things I avoided in my 20’s, and I did that through abusing drugs and alcohol and with eating disorders. I no longer want to numb anything away. Instead, I want to put in the work, even when it is uncomfortable and be where I’m at.

“I hope the album helps people along in their own healing journeys and reminds them that they’re not alone. I want to keep creating that safe space where we’re all free to talk about everything.” Luce states.

Florida Girl tracklist:

01 Never Enough

02 Other Side

03 Your Garden (Intro)

04 Your Garden

05 (h)our glass

06 Florida Poem

07 Saline

08 Florida Girl

09 Face and Figure

10 Minute Too Soon