Luke Sital-Singh Announces Covers EP ‘Across The Evening Sky’ Out Feb 9

October 5, 2023 BY Danielle Romeo

Today, Luke Sital-Singh announces his new EP Across The Evening Sky, a collection of six covers the prolific singer, songwriter and producer choose with the help of his fans. The EP is set for release February 9, 2024, and he introduces the set with a re-imagining of Death Cab For Cutie’s “I Will Follow You Into The Dark.” The track is available everywhere tomorrow, October 6, HERE

Luke says, “’Plans’ was my entry point record to the world of Death Cab, and this song knocked me on my back when I first heard it. I thought it would be fun to try to imagine what it would sound like if they’d recorded it as a full band track instead of the sparse acoustic version on the record.”

On the idea of a covers EP, he shares, “When I was a younger songwriter, I used to hate covers. Whenever I was asked to perform or learn a cover, my infantile pride would get hurt like it was a slight against my own (imaginary) songwriting prowess. Now that I’m older and a perhaps a little wiser, I see covers as a great opportunity to hone my songwriting and production skills. I learn so much from dissecting and reassembling great songs.” Regarding how he chose the songs, he adds, “During the pandemic, I started a Patreon club where fans could pick covers for me to record, and that’s how these specific covers came to be. It was fun to give fans a real say in the music I made.”

Watch Luke perform “I Will Follow You Into The Dark” below:

Luke has also announced a special London show on Wednesday, November 8th at House of St. Barnabas. Tickets are HERE.

I Will Follow You Into The Dark follows Luke’s critically acclaimed 2022 full-length album Dressing Like A Stranger, an eleven-song collection penned by the London-born songwriter as he moved halfway across the globe to Los Angeles just before the world shut down. Throughout the album (his Nettwerk debut), Luke takes stock of newfound change on many fronts: distance from loved ones (“Rather Be” – a stunning duet with multi-platinum star Christina Perri), the complexities of belief (“Me & God” – named a Best Song Of The Week selection by WNYC upon its release) and, most importantly, his quest to find optimism even on the darkest of days (“Summer Somewhere”). The album has over 10 million Spotify streams and received praise from NPR Music, Forbes, No Depression, Under The Radar, WNYC and more. He then released the gorgeous and sparse Strange Weather EP (2023), which Glide described as “sweet, simple, and focused on honoring the song,” and American Pancake called “pure beauty.”

Photo Credit: Sebastian Keefe / Download Here

Across The Evening Sky EP Tracklist

1. Who Knows Where The Time Goes (Fairport Convention)

2. I Will Follow You Into The Dark (Death Cab)

3. Heroes (David Bowie)

4. Chicago (Sufjan Stevens)

5. The Drugs Don’t Work (The Verve)

6. Moon River (Henry Mancini/Johnny Mercer/Audrey Hepburn)