Lo-fi Chillhop Artist Fletcher Reed Announces ‘Topos’ Album (Out July 9); Listen To “Sacramento Steve”

May 3, 2021 BY Nettwerk

Amsterdam-based American music producer Fletcher Reed (aka Andrew Smith) will release his uptempo chillhop album Topos on July 9, 2021, via Nettwerk Records. Topos is the first of a dual-genre project to be released over the course of the next year.

The songs offer a mellow drift into daydreams. While a typical chillhop sound is intent on promising a perfect stress management tool and focus optimization, my hope is this project gives character and meaning to the songs. An idea that allows people to connect their own dots and meanings into why they enjoy this genre. The thrumming synths and ambient guitars blur lines between electronic and human elements. The characters and songs allow a listener to enter another person’s world, rather than provide a filter for their own world. The album, its characters, and their visual accompaniment is truly an experience to get lost in.”

Smith grew up learning various instruments and playing in different bands at an early age. A few years back, he and a friend took off for Zimbabwe, their first destination on what would become a mostly non-stop journey across several continents for two years. While the trip would influence his perception of the world and its people and cultures, another very specific inspiration revealed itself. Though instrumental, Reed’s music is injected with a specific sense of place and geographic spirit to represent the worldly appreciation Reed developed while traveling. In fact, each song is a two-part alliterative title comprised of an international city and a person’s name. Each fictitious character playfully represents the many facets associated with travel whether it be “Jakarta Jani,” an intrepid traveler refined by the wisdom of carefree ex-pat life, or “Sacramento Steve,” a man that lives a simple life and loves it.

“Steve cares for his wife and kids, he fishes the American River outside of Sacramento, he works a 9-5, and most importantly he’s happy. Steve is ok with the way things are, and he loves California and all its surroundings more than most. He’s not drawn to the glamour & stardom of Los Angeles, nor the money & tech in San Francisco. He loves his life and is more than content with the way things are and just letting everything ‘be’ as it should be!”

Fletcher Reed is sure to be a major landmark on the instrumental music map, with multiple singles on the horizon.

To pre-save Topos, Click HERE: https://fletcherreed.ffm.to/topos.

Track List:

  1. Edinburgh Edward
  2. Jakarta Jani
  3. Manhattan Mary
  4. Rotterdam Rita
  5. Sacramento Steve
  6. Tijuana Tatiana
  7. Bogota Bruno
  8. Auckland Audrey
  9. Chameleon
  10. Can You?
  11. You Can
  12. Crash
  13. Insecurities