LA Duo Jim and Sam Release New Album ‘Good On The Other Side’

May 5, 2023 BY Bailey Vigliaturo

Los Angeles-based husband-and-wife duo Jim and Sam congregate around wistful harmonies, intimate lyrics, unshakable melodies and disarming comedic banter. After amassing millions of streams, packing shows, and co-starring, co-producing, and co-directing the award-winning documentary After So Many Days, they cement their commitment to one another in music and uphold the ultimate vow on their new full-length album, Good On The Other Side [Nettwerk], out today via Nettwerk. Listen here:

“The album follows us through this massive change in our life together,” notes Jim. “The first half of the record is filled with the excitement, nervousness, anxiety, and joy we experienced while becoming parents—which nothing can prepare you for. On the second half, we’ve realized this massive perspective shift in terms of how we view where we live, our music, and one another.” 

“It’s a roller coaster of feelings,” Sam adds. “There’s a lot of nostalgia, because we were looking back at the life we’d lived before. All of these themes play a part. Music is the heartbeat of our relationship and our lives, so we’re climbing our way through this discovery in the songs.”

Between touring internationally since 2015, the group have enchanted audiences with a series of fan favorite releases, including the This Is What’s Left EP [2017] and Yeah Whatever Young Forever EP [2018]. The latter boasted “Doctor Please,” which generated over 2.2 million Spotify streams and counting. Along the way, they shot After So Many Days. It chronicled a year straight where the pair performed one show per day for 365 days. Emerging as a film festival phenomenon, it took home “Best Music Documentary” at Nashville Film Festival 2020, and was an “Official Selection” at over 30 film festivals. Michael Moore’s Traverse City Film Festival proclaimed the film to be “an enchanting love letter to music and marriage, and an exhilarating example of putting your heart on the line for the thing (and the one) you love.”

As the world shut down due to the Global Pandemic, Jim and Sam continued crafting what would eventually become Good On The Other Side out of their home studio. In between, their daughter (Hazel) arrived as they chronicled this season of change and wonder in the songs, as evidenced on their nostalgic and vulnerable previously released singles like “Space for the Stranger,” and “Like Children Do,” along with, the contemplative album track, “Leave Los Angeles for Good This Time.”

“We’re constantly questioning what the city has given us and what it’s taken away, wondering which outweighs the other,” Jim says of the track. “After the birth of our daughter, we’ve put a magnifying glass over this city to make sure it’s the right fit.”

In the end, Good On The Other Side is a reminder that no matter how dark it seems, there’s always light just up ahead.

Download Album Art Here
  1. House on Fire
  2. Space for the Stranger
  3. Harley Davidson
  4. Rusted Sign
  5. Becoming Ghosts
  6. Good On The Other Side
  7. Somebody Right
  8. Like Children Do
  9. Therapy
  10. Leave Los Angeles for Good This Time
  11. It Takes A Lullaby