Jarle Skavhellen Announces Debut Album; Shares Lyric Video For “Pilots”

March 26, 2018 BY Nettwerk

“Echoing artists like Sufjan Stevens and José Gonzelez during their earlier days, the young man from Bergen prefers to stick to the acoustic folk sounds of the genre’s history. It results in melancholic little acoustic gems.” – Nothing But Hope and Passion

“A truly timeless songwriter, his acoustic style is rooted in the past but firmly looks to the present.”– Clash

Up-and-coming Norwegian singer-songwriter Jarle Skavhellen will release his debut album The Ghost In Your Smile on May 11th via Nettwerk Records.

Premiered on Nothing But Hope and Passion, watch the lyric video for one of the standout songs from the forthcoming album, “Pilots.”

Watch “Pilots (Lyric Video)”: 

“Pilots” showcases Jarle’s elegant and captivating delivery. Speaking to NBHAP, he explains the meaning behind it: “This is maybe my most personal song so far. It’s all about a friendship gone awry, and the need to preserve the good memories instead of letting the past be tainted by the present.

Jarle is a timeless voice; a songwriting talent that feels steeped in the traditional, while yearning for something new, something modern. The guitarist is a true artisan, a songwriter, who wants to create something unique, something intense and incisive, a form of connection that uncovers emotional truths.

His debut studio album is a supremely creative first offering, with the diversity of the lyricism matched to a real unity within the music itself. “The Ghost In Your Smile” is a reflection on heartache and broken personal bonds, the enduring power of music and it’s ability to heal. “Pilots” draws directly from the real-life dissolution of a friendship, while “A Life That’s Gone” focuses on the final chapters of a love affair; in contrast, though, the passion-fuelled “Seventeen” finds the Norwegian artist moving on, embracing something new.

An inspired songwriter who aims for the flawless, Jarle is only just getting started. “There are no limits, really,” he explains. “I mean, I’ve been playing for almost 20 years now, and it’s still as much fun as the first time. There’s always something new to discover.” An artist who wants to ceaselessly build, he wants to construct a catalogue, an imposing, personal, and undauntedly creative body of work. At one point he sighs, and says simply: “I’ll keep going as long as possible.

1. The Ghost in Your Smile
2. Now That I Know
3. Coming Home
4. Matylda
5. Pilots
6. Paper Mache
7. Part of the Scenery
8. Final Days
9. Seventeen
10. A Life That’s Gone

About Jarle Skavhellen:

Norwegian folk singer-songwriter Jarle Skavhellen is heavily influenced by the old-timey guitar stylings of American icons Chet Atkins and Dave Van Ronk despite having lived in Bergen his whole life. Growing up in the small, lush town with a family of artists and musicians, he got his start early when he was taught how to play at age eleven by iconic Norwegian guitarist, Mads Eriksen. His father’s love for vinyl of all genres and his uncle’s ever-expanding guitar collection enabled Jarle’s passion for music to grow. He played in numerous bands over the years from indie-rock to funk to even a Metallica cover band in high school before having the courage to start writing and performing his own songs three years ago. He blends the warm vintage sounds of yesteryear with his own distinctive mumblings over lush acoustic guitars. After topping the Spotify Viral Hits Charts both globally & in the US for his first single “The Ghost In Your Smile” back in December 2016, Jarle was found and signed to International label Nettwerk Records (Angus & Julia Stone, Boy & Bear, Passenger). Jarle’s debut album The Ghost In Your Smile will be released on May 11th, 2018.