Iowa Folk Songwriter DAVIS JOHN PATTON Shares Deep and Textured New Album ‘Davis’ Out Now!

July 22, 2022 BY Jason Currell

Today, Iowa-born singer-songwriter and producer Davis John Patton drops his deep and textured new album, Davisout now via Nettwerk. The twelve-song odyssey is a nuanced and meditative exploration of life’s wonders, big and small. He finds ways to meld the grandiose mysteries with the quiet intimacies of the mundane through introspective lyricism and lush layers of acoustic guitars, mellow synths, sweeping orchestrations, and steady rhythms. Listen to Davis on all digital retailers (here).

“The songs that make up Davis all center around the theme of existence,” explains Patton. “Some of the songs stare life and death in the face, while others consider existence through various vignettes and moments from my life. The songs are personal and introspective, and I tried to produce the tracks in a way that communicated that. The end result is an album that feels genuinely ‘me’ in every way, and I am so pumped for the album to be released!”

Watch “The Morning’s Blessings” live performance video:


The music of Davis John Patton often resembles the feeling of discovering, dusting off, and opening up an old photo album. You’ll invariably experience a rush of memories only to be inspired to keep living and making more. He takes all of those emotions and commutes them into handcrafted, yet layered and textured folk.

As much as you’ll watch his story unfold, Davis is really here to help you tell your story. After amassing millions of streams and media praise from the likes of American Songwriter, Atwood Magazine, Paste, and Iowa Public Radio the Iowa-born singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and producer encourages you to not just think but to also feel out loud.

Born and raised in the Midwest, Davis found himself drawn to music at a young age. Mom enrolled him in piano lessons during first grade. Three years later, he picked up a guitar. In between choir at church and school, he discovered Bon Iver’s For Emma, Forever Ago and embraced acoustic folk. As a college student, Davis introduced himself on the 2018 independent EP, Forest Park, followed by his 2019 Nettwerk debut EP From The Garden and 2020’s Poetry EP. Davis encourages listeners to not just think, but to also feel out loud on the 2021 collection Songs From Davis, and finally culminating with his new album Davis.


“Artist of the Month” –Iowa Public Radio
“…delicate instrumentation carries his vocals down a stream of consciousness.”American Songwriter
“Patton weaves together a heartwarming ambience that shimmers with inspiration and hope.”Atwood Magazine
“The warm tone from the vocal makes the whole style feel familiar. Even if you’ve never heard Patton before, his style feels like an old friend.”Ear to the Ground Music
“His music brings together unique, gentle instrumentation and graceful melodies similar to artists like Bon Iver, Novo Amor, and Sufjan Stevens…” Paste Magazine

Download Davis Album Artwork Here

Track List:
01. April 23, 1996
02. The Morning’s Blessings
03. Eason
04. The Oceans
05. If/Then
06. Brevity
07. Bleak Midwestern Winter
08. Vacant Airport
09. Rosewood
10. Alleluia
11. A Killer (Or at Least Self-Centered)
12. A Killer (Postscript)