Indie Folk Outfit Oliver Hazard Captivates Listeners With Their New Self-titled Album

July 14, 2023 BY Jason Currell

Waterville, Ohio indie-folk outfit Oliver Hazard captivates listeners with their unique blend of delicate arrangements and sturdy melodies on their new self-titled album released today with Nettwerk. Listen to the album that’s sure to win hearts with its introspective lyrics HERE.

The album is the work of 3 individual singers, songwriters and multi-instrumentalists, who share an organic connection in the craft — sensibilities that yield music that’s harmonic, haunting and also ambitious and surprising. “This album feels different than anything we’ve done in the past. We’re very simple people, all three of us. I think the album reflects that, and I hope it captures something  you probably can’t describe yourself, but that speaks to you,” the band shares. “And as far as  the message, it’s just shared experiences.”

Self-titled Album Tracklisting:

  1. Ballerina
  2. Two x Four
  3. Saratoga
  4. Use Me Up
  5. Fly Right
  6. Northern Lights
  7. Oh Mama Won’t You Write Me
  8. Let Down
  9. Natalie
  10. Summertime Whiskey

After having just wrapped up a U.S. tour with Houndmouth and performing three sold out headline shows in Alaska, Oliver Hazard is ready to hit the stage for a few festival dates, including their very own yearly festival, Oliver Hazard Day, created to support the local community in Waterville, OH. For more information on upcoming shows and to purchase tickets, visit the band’s website HERE.

Oliver Hazard Tour Dates:

July 27 – Stowe, VT – Spruce Peak Summer Concert Series

August 12 – Waterville, OH – Oliver Hazard Day*

October 13 – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Music Festival

About Oliver Hazard:

The story of Waterville, OH indie-folk trio Oliver Hazard – Michael Belazis (vocals, guitar) and Devin East (vocals, guitar), joined by Nate Miner (keys, vocals) – is the digital age’s version of classic band mythmaking. One member of the band came home to Ohio after leading camping trips in California and decided to make an album with two childhood friends. They won a Facebook raffle to record one song at a studio. Instead, they played their whole album straight through once, resulting in their debut LP 34 N River (2018). The Fader called the album a “folk-pop masterpiece” and the band was booked at Bonnaroo and Mountain Jam shortly thereafter. In 2019, the band released their 6 track EP, The Flood, which Billboard called a “souvenir.” This brings the band to their sophomore, self-titled album (July 2023), featuring music from the band’s recent Northern Lights EP, plus five additional songs.