Icelandic musician Axel Flóvent Releases Deluxe Version of Debut Album ‘You Stay By The Sea’ + Official Album Documentary

September 9, 2022 BY Jason Currell

Today, rising Icelandic singer-songwriter Axel Flóvent shares a deluxe version of his full-length debut, You Stay By The Sea along with an official album documentary directed by Clara Schicketanz. Flóvent pulled in listeners into the wonders of Iceland with his eloquent storytelling and cinematic instrumentation from the collection of dusky songs that varied from subtle ballads to electronic-leaning tracks on his debut album, You Stay By The Sea. The deluxe version of this album includes the latest single “Fireworks (Night Version)” feat. RAKEL, three remixes, acoustic versions, and a new original song “Tomorrow Will Be Gone.”

On the deluxe album, Axel shares, “I’ve always been a big fan of when my favorite bands release bonus material from their record or a deluxe version of their record – gives you a chance to get a bit more than just what they choose for the record. Plus, when ‘You Stay by the Sea’ came out it was in the midst of the pandemic and I couldn’t really take it on the road, so this gives me a chance to shine a new light on my debut record and perform these songs live before starting the next chapter. I wanted to close this chapter with some unreleased material from the record.”

Watch ‘You Stay by the Sea (A Short Film)’ Here:

Flòvent shares on the new track, “’Tomorrow Will Be Gone’ is about wasting time and fear of wasting time. I often catch myself in a loop of promises, emotions, things I want to approve in my life and I often stop at the same gate of difficulties and repeat the mantra ‘It’s not my best, I’ll try to improve next time’ instead of “I did my best and will continue to improve,” which are two different sides of the same coin. ‘Tomorrow Will Be Gone’ is a reminder to change your perspective and not the self.”


You Stay by the Sea Deluxe is available HERE:

Track List:

01. Tonight

02. Driving Hours

03. Tourist

04. December Traffic

05. Haunted

06. Fall Asleep

07. Still Awake

08. Blood

09. Indefinite

10. How Can I

11. Fireworks

12. You Stay by the Sea

13. Moonstone

14. Sea Creatures

15. Tomorrow Will Be Gone

16. Fireworks (Night Version) feat. RAKEL

17. Driving Hours (SCayos & Annie Elise Remix)

18. Sea Creatures (Nightshifts Remix)

19. Driving Hours (musclecars “Call Me” Mix)

Album Cover | Download HERE


9/08/22 – SE-Stockholm – Röda Paradise*

9/10/22 – NO-Oslo – Cafe Langs Akerselva*

9/12/22 – DK-Copenhagen – Ideal Bar*

9/13/22 – DE-Hamburg – Bahnhof Pauli*

9/14/22 – DE-Berlin – Kantine am Berghain*

9/15/22 – DE-Köln – Artheater*

9/16/22 – NL-Amsterdam – Melkweg*

9/17/22 – BE-Antwerp – Rock Lobster*

9/18/22 – CH-Zürich – Papiersaal*

9/21/22 – DE-Leipzig – Neues Schauspiel*

9/23/22 – NL-Ede – Cultura*

9/24/22 – FR-Paris – Pop up du label*

With Plàsi*

About Axel Flóvent:

Born and raised in the Northern fishing village of Húsavík, Axel recorded his first EP Forest Fires, it was here where the songs were written under the influence of everything from Bon Iver to Bombay Bicycle Club.  It yielded an international phenomenon in the form of the title track, generating over 40 million streams. At 19 years old, he moved into his first apartment in Amsterdam and “felt so isolated.” He admits, “I was supposed to be in a music mecca, but I never left the apartment.” So, he traded Amsterdam for the seaside town of Brighton in the UK where he recorded the EP Youthful Hearts. Living in Brighton gave Axel “the clarity to move to Iceland.” Last year, Axel returned to Iceland, and chose to plant roots in the capital Reykjavík. Tapping into the DIY spirit of his earliest recordings, but with a sense of refinement and newfound wisdom, Axel recorded Tourist EP and his most recent release You Stay by the Sea with Ian Grimble (1975, Benjamin Francis Leftwich, Daughter, Bear’s Den, Mumford & Sons).

For Fans of: The Paper Kites, Ásgeir, Bon Iver, Novo Amor, Gregory Alan Isakov, Dermot Kennedy.