Hermitude To Release ‘Mirror Mountain’ (Out May 6); Watch “Promises (feat. Andie)” Music Video 

January 28, 2022 BY Penny Palmer

Mirror Mountain is an 8-track album rooted in the place in which it was made. The album is about finding one’s way, a creative spurt coinciding with a global lockdown to find a new kind of homecoming.

Simplicity was a significant factor in this record. Making it back to Australia before the borders closed, Hermitude – the duo of Luke Dubber (Dubs) and Angus Stuart (“El Gusto“) – quietly slipped up to the Blue Mountains with a pared-back music setup: a Moog Matriarch, one other synth, and a laptop. “We tried not to over-clutter the music,” says Angus. “Recording [‘Pollyanarchy’] was a fun experience, but it was also tiring. We wanted to strip everything back and return to the essence of why we started Hermitude in the first place, which was just us two locked in a studio in the mountains having a bit of fun and seeing what came out,” Luke says.

This control over their process led to a loosening of their creative inhibitions. “They say the artist is your inner child, so it was like the children were out at play. There were no rules or expectations; we just threw stuff at the wall. It was really fun, which is why we started making music in the first place. It’s easy to get that muddled when you’re doing it as a profession instead of just hanging out as friends because agendas arise, and suddenly, popularity happens, and you have to adhere to certain things. This new music had none of that, which was exciting,” adds Luke.

The Blue Mountains are tangible on Mirror Mountain. From the album’s name down to the vocal feature from Blue Mountain artist Andie on the latest single, “Promises.”

Watch The Official Music Video For “Promises (feat. Andie)” HERE:

From this place of comfort and inspiration, the album captures the story of the people and places that helped define their award-winning career. “We hadn’t written up here for ten years. It’s where we started, and we grew up here, and it’s where we had our first bands. It was returning home, but we wanted to go in a new direction, so it felt fresh, not like going backward. It was returning to our roots but also with this new feeling to it all.”

“Promises (feat. Andie)” follows “St Claire” and is available at all retailers here: https://elefant.lnk.to/HermitudePromises.

To presave the album, please click HERE.

On May 6, 2022, Mirror Mountain will be released via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk Records.via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk Records.

Track List:
1. St Claire

2. Lift Me Up

3. Promises (feat. Andie)

4. When You Feel Like This (Feat. Jungle Giants)

5. Golden Hour

6. Flush with Love

7. Tides of Time

8. Sixth Sense

Album Cover Art | Download HERE

Their Nettwerk debut album, Dark Night Sweet Light, debuted Top 10 on Billboard’s Electronic Chart, performing standout singles like “The Buzz (feat. Mataya and Young Tapz)” at sold-out headline shows and festival stageslike Lollapalooza, Governor’s Ball, SXSW, Lightning In A Bottle, HARD Summer, Life Is Beautiful, Osheaga, Summer Camp and more. Their latest album, Pollyanarchy, again reflected the duo’s development as one of the country’s best collaborators, working with guest artists like Buddy & BJ The Chicago Kid, Vic Mensa, Bibi Bourelly, Electric Fields, and Haiku HandsDaniel BedingfieldKimbraKameron, and Drew Love. Most recently, “Hyperparadise” received a Tropkillaz remix, and its previous flip from Flume and GANZ was featured on EA Sports’ FIFA 2022 soundtrack. Deeply rooted in home, the forthcoming album Mirror Mountain is out May 6, 2022, via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk Records.