Hermitude Shares ‘Mirror Mountain’ (Out Today); Listen To “Flush With Love”

May 6, 2022 BY Penny Palmer

Acclaimed Australian electronic duo Hermitude has unveiled their hotly-anticipated new album Mirror Mountain, out now via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk.

An eight-track release, Mirror Mountain was recorded at Angus’ home on the outskirts of the Blue Mountain town of Blackheath, just as the rest of the world went into lockdown. The pair opted for a pared-back setup of one synth, one laptop, and a Moog Matriarch, attempting “not to over-clutter the music,” they explained. “Recording Pollyanarchy was a fun experience, but it was also tiring,” said Angus Stuart.

“We wanted to strip everything back and return to the essence of why we started Hermitude in the first place,” Luke Dubber added. “Which was just us two locked in a studio in the mountains having a bit of fun and seeing what came out.”

The LP kicks off with “St Claire,” one of three singles on the album. Characterized by lush, atmospheric dance vibes, it very much sets the tone. “Lift Me Up” carries similar energy before the breakbeat euphoria of “Promises” – the LP’s second single – features newcomer vocalist Andie. Third and final single, “When You Feel Like This,” a collaboration with indie-rock outfit The Jungle Giants, offers a nimble, high-energy dose of feelgood electronica, the aptly-titled “Golden Hour” evokes the kind of wistful beauty attached to witnessing a breathtaking sunrise, and “Flush With Love” pairs poignant piano chords with warped vocals. Closing things out, “Tides Of Time” delivers some meditative respite before “Sixth Sense” ensures Mirror Mountain finishes on a suitably glistening note.

Consisting of Luke Dubber (a.k.a. Luke Dubs) and Angus Stuart (a.k.a. El Gusto), Billboard-chart topping outfit Hermitudehave been releasing music since the turn of the century, drawing widespread critical acclaim and sold-out headline shows around the world. They have since released six albums, most recently last year’s Pollyanarchy.

Steeped in introspection and emotion, Mirror Mountain is Hermitude’s most quietly powerful release yet. To order the album, please click HERE.

Track List:
1. St Claire
2. Lift Me Up
3. Promises (feat. Andie)
4. When You Feel Like This (Feat. Jungle Giants)
5. Golden Hour
6. Flush with Love
7. Tides of Time
8. Sixth Sense

Cover Credits – Kayo Yokoyama (Glass Sculpture), Claire Nakazawa (Photo),
Brecon Littleford (Cover Set) and El Gusto (Photo Glitch)
Download HERE

Their Nettwerk debut album, Dark Night Sweet Light, debuted Top 10 on Billboard’s Electronic Chart, performing standout singles like “The Buzz (feat. Mataya and Young Tapz)” at sold-out headline shows and festival stageslike Lollapalooza, Governor’s Ball, SXSW, Lightning In A Bottle, HARD Summer, Life Is Beautiful, Osheaga, Summer Camp and more. Their album Pollyanarchy again reflected the duo’s development as one of the country’s best collaborators, working with guest artists like Buddy & BJ The Chicago Kid, Vic Mensa, Bibi Bourelly, Electric Fields, and Haiku HandsDaniel BedingfieldKimbraKameron, and Drew Love. Their standout single, “Hyperparadise” received a Tropkillaz remix, and its previous flip from Flume and GANZ was featured on EA Sports’ FIFA 2022 soundtrack. Deeply rooted in home, the forthcoming album Mirror Mountain is out now via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk.