Hermitude ‘Pollyanarchy (Deluxe)’ (Out Today Via Nettwerk Records) 

November 13, 2020 BY Nettwerk


One year on from its release, Hermitude today drop Pollyanarchy (Deluxe) featuring unreleased tracks “Don’t Forget Me (feat. Drew Love)” and “Overdue (feat. Kameron),” alongside recent singles “Janela (feat. Kimbra)” and “Spotlight (feat. Daniel Bedingfield).”

At the helm of the deluxe re-release is the lead single, “Don’t Forget Me.” The synth-heavy single features the smooth vocals of Drew Love (one half of THEY.) and is the perfect tropical chill drop to lead us into summer. Heavily influenced by afrobeat, smooth basslines, and steady percussion leave the listener no choice but to groove along. 

This tune is a special one because it almost got lost in an inbox. We were working with Drew Love on another track, and halfway through the session, he asked us what we thought of “Don’t Forget Me,” to which we replied, “what’s that?”. Turns out he demoed the track six months earlier and we never received it. He put it on, and we were like “this is sick!” So we ditched the other song and finished this one, and we’re happy we did!”

Listen to “Don’t Forget Me (feat. Drew Love)” HERE.

Pollyanarchy (Deluxe) features the unreleased track “Overdue (feat. Kameron),” a low flung electronica cut infused with RnB elements. The release was led by smash single “Spotlight (feat. Daniel Bedingfield),” which was swiftly added to triple j and received plays across BBC1. Arriving as a limited edition 4 track vinyl, Pollyanarchy (Deluxe) celebrates the 1st anniversary of the much-loved album, which soared to #6 on the ARIA charts, featured as triple j’s album of the week, and saw the duo play to stages across the world in 2019. 

“It’s so great to be revisiting Pollyanarchy with these bonus tracks that didn’t make the original release. We feel these songs complete the chapter as they each hold their special backstory and help round out the story and vibe of what Pollyanarchy feels to us.”

Aficionados of collaboration, Hermitude brought together a festival-worthy line-up including Buddy & BJ The Chicago Kid, Vic Mensa, Bibi Bourelly, Electric Fields, and Haiku Hands and now adding Daniel Bedingfield, Kimbra, Kameron, and Drew Love (THEY.) to the list. Feeling inspired and back in their new Blue Mountains studio Hermitude has new works on the horizon for 2021. For now, enjoy this extra slice of Pollyanarchy. 

To order Pollyanarchy (Deluxe), click here: https://elefant.lnk.to/HermPOLLYANARCHYdeluxe.

About Hermitude:

Hermitude’s latest album is a reflection on finding clarity in the chaos. Pollyanarchy is a record of the time spent to meticulously sculpt, experiment, and create a piece of work that skillfully blends a diverse assemblage of features like Vic Mensa, BJ The Chicago Kid, Buddy, Bibi Bourelly, Haiku Hands, Hoodlem, Wes Period, Soaky Sirens, Vory, and Electric Fields. In and amongst the eleven tracks, Hermitude yet again produced a future-facing album of coherence and variety that showcases a wide range of influences, from late-night R&B to deep pitched basslines and trap-inflected hooks. The list of collaborations notes the distance in which their music has taken them, bending genres and bridging the gap between electronic music and hip-hop. Pollyanarchy follows Nettwerk Records debut album Dark Night Sweet Light, which landed at #1 on Australia’s ARIA charts, and Top 10 on Billboard’s electronic charts. Standout track “The Buzz” was prominently featured in the Samsung commercial for their new smartwatch Samsung Gear S2, catapulting the track to 82 million streams on Spotify. Festival appearances include Lollapalooza, Governor’s Ball, SXSW, Lightning In A Bottle, HARD Summer, Life Is Beautiful, Osheaga, Summer Camp, and critic support from i-D, SPIN, Vogue, Billboard, YourEDM, Complex, High Snobiety, Hypebeast, Beats 1, Entertainment Weekly, MixMag, DJ Mag, Clash and more.