Hein Cooper Shares “Rusty (Acoustic)” From ‘Acoustic Transmission’ EP (Out June 3 Via Nettwerk)

April 22, 2022 BY Penny Palmer

On June 3, Australian singer-songwriter Hein Cooper will release Acoustic Transmission, a 4-song acoustic EP featuring stripped-down renditions of previously released tracks like “Turbulent Heart” and “Glory” from his latest album, True To You, and first single, “Rusty (Acoustic)” from his 2016 debut album The Art of Escape.

About the track, Hein says, “‘Rusty’ was originally all about my addictive personality and how it has affected my life. It had this heaviness that I tried to transform with a fun and happy sound to help it come across easier to more people.” Hein further explains, “my aim with this acoustic version was to allow that energy to come out in its raw state and see how that feels. It’s got this honesty, and I’m happy to share another side of one of my favourites!”

Immense change has been at the forefront of Cooper’s life for a minute now. With his debut album, The Art of Escape, the Australian singer-songwriter Hein Cooper had toured tirelessly, supporting James Bay and Lukas Graham. Meeting the love of his life has been a transformative experience that informed his Nettwerk debut album True To You. In addition to themes around commitment, the album saw references to Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World and Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn show Cooper’s love of classic literature.

Cooper – who’s been compulsively listening to Bon Iver, Frank Ocean, RY X – put together the EP with those musical inspirations in mind. So, to round out the collection, Hein includes a cover of Frank Ocean’s “Lost.” Hein says, “I‘ve always loved creating alternate versions of my music, particularly because I find it hard to stick to one genre or style, so it felt natural after this album to do a collection of acoustic versions; across the board.”

The Acoustic Transmission EP is out on June 3. “Rusty (Acoustic)” is available at all digital retailers here: https://hein.ffm.to/rustyacoustic.

Track List:
1. Lost (Acoustic)
2. Rusty (Acoustic)
3. Turbulent Heart (Acoustic)
4. Glory (Acoustic)

EP Artwork | Download HERE