Harrison Brome To Release ‘Strange’ EP (June 24); Listen To Psych-Pop Track “Unseen” 

May 13, 2022 BY Penny Palmer

Many people describe music as a lifeline — but few mean it in the way that Harrison Brome does. Music has been integral to the life of the 25-year-old producer, songwriter, and vocalist since he found out he had dyslexia at an extremely early age. Struggling with reading and writing at a young age, Harrison’s mother bought him a karaoke machine; singing out words and reading while he sang became integral to managing his dyslexia.

Today, Brome shares details of his forthcoming 5-track EP, titled Strange (out June 17 via Nettwerk). It’s a body of work that establishes Harrison as a pop savant of seemingly limitless ideology and no shortage of innovative reference points. Smart, strange, and strikingly indelible, it’s another fascinating next step from an artist who’s never stopped looking forward.

On top of the EP news, Harrison shares the latest single, “Unseen,” which focuses on feelings of frustration, self-doubt, and rejection that can come along with breakups. “The song was originally a guitar and bass progression that I was sitting on for almost a year,” says Harrison. “Every once in a while, the vocal melody I had for it would get stuck in my head, so I decided to resurface the song to take another shot at writing something on it.”

The Vancouver, British Columbia native makes music chic, mood-driven, and inherently genreless; in each of his compositions is a dialogue between R&B, psych-pop, classic indie, and cutting-edge electronic music. Across his catalog, Harrison has received praise from fans and tastemakers alike, both on the radio (KCRW, BBC Radio 1, Radio 1Xtra) and in press (FADER, VICE, Complex, NYLON, HighSnobiety), as well as a loyal live following with performances at Osheaga Music & Arts Festival, Bumbershoot, The Great Escape, Electric Forest and more.

Strange — with its R&B classicism and rough-hewn, ingratiating indie-pop production — connects. To pre-order the EP, click HERE. “Unseen” is available at all digital retailers; click HERE.

Track List:
1. Coconut Cream
2. Freak
3. Strange
4. Unseen
5. Gone

EP Art | Download HERE