Genre-defying Duo MISSIO Drops ‘I Am Cinco,’ Combining Five Mood-Based EPs Into One Monumental Release

May 3, 2024 BY Emma Orland

Texas duo MISSIO encapsulates complex human emotions with their new album I Am Cinco. The album combines the different moods and emotions of the four previously released EPs – I Am SadI Am HighI Am Awesome, and I Am Angry – along with the fifth and final EP, I Am Crazy, which also drops today alongside the full album. Together, these 26-tracks see MISSIO powerfully meld elements of rock, electronic, indie, and hip-hop into an unmatched and uncompromising hybrid. Listen to the band’s most ambitious body of work to date HERE, and for more information on band’s illustrious career, check out the sizzle reel HERE.

I Am Cinco is an empowering statement that you exist as the sum of all parts of your past. David Butler elaborates, “We have widely different emotions. The way we live our lives is the way we created ‘I Am Cinco.’ This is a picture of humanity and a collection of our experiences.”

MISSIO is proud to share the newest visualizer for “Fall Into A Black Hole,” one of the five new songs from the I Am Crazy EP,  rounding out the band’s vision of celebrating human existence. These tracks delve into introspection and processing trauma in healthy ways, and also features the previously unreleased tracks  “Rage,” “This World Is Better When It’s Sick, ” “Go Fuck Yourself,” and “Pulled Down Low.” 

Formulated in the band’s hometown of Austin, TX, I Am Cinco was eventually completed on a creative escape to Mexico City. “We’ve been to multiple countries and had 10 different sessions to write and record these 26 songs. It’s an epic inspired by some of the great old-school double LPs like The Wall or Melancholy and the Infinite Sadness. We’re not just here to check a box; we’re here to be prolific. It puts our creativity out there in a way no other album has. It’s MISSIO,” MISSIO elaborates.

I Am Cinco Tracklisting:

  1. I Am Sad and I Can’t Speak
  2. Read Your Mind
  3. I Don’t Like It When You’re Lonely
  4. What Can You Say
  5. RingTing
  6. Monsters (Inside of Us)
  7. Good Vibrations
  8. Easy
  9. Thang Thang
  10.  Big Stacks
  11.  Papi Chulo
  12.  I’m Coming Home
  13.  Not My Fault
  14.  Heart Made of Dynamite
  15.  Goodbye to the Old Me
  16.  Making Me Nervous
  17.  Run Away
  18.  Rage
  19.  Fuck It
  20.  Aztec Death Whistle
  21.  This World Is Better When It’s Sick
  22.  Go Fuck Yourself
  23.  Fall into a Blackhole
  24.  The Higher You Climb
  25.  Pulled Down Low
  26.  Time

MISSIO will be bringing their high energy live show to Denver for their album release show on May 3rd before heading out to Europe and the U.K. for a headline run starting in June. Catch the band performing the new music for the first time live by purchasing tickets on the band’s website HERE.

MISSIO Tour Dates:

May 3 – Denver, CO – Meow Wolf Denver

June 8 – Milano, Italy – Santeria Toscana 31

June 10 – Warsaw Poland – Proxima

June 12 – Bratislava, Slovakia – Fuga

June 13 – Nickelsdorf, Austria – Nova Rock

June 14 – Hradec, Czechia – Rock For People

June 16 – Derby, United Kingdom – Download Festival

June 19 – London, United Kingdom – Underworld

June 21 – Koln, Germany – Luxor

June 22 – Neuhausen Ob Eck, Germany

June 23 – Schnee, Germany – Hurricane Festival

June 25 – Zurich, Switzerland – Plaza

June 26 – Munich, Germany – Strom

June 27 – Berlin, Germany – Franz Club

June 29 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Tolhuistuin

About MISSIO:  

Since 2015, MISSIO released Loner [2017], The Darker the Weather // The Better the Man [2019], Can You Feel The Sun [2020], and VILLAIN [2022]. Their catalog has notably resonated with the Gold-certified “Everybody Gets High” and staples, including “Twisted,” “Bottom of the Deep Blue See,” “Sing To Me,” and “I See You.” Between selling out shows, they appeared at festivals a la ACL and Lollapalooza and incited praise from BillboardRolling StoneNew Noise, and Substream.

Photo Credit: Ima Leupp | Download HERE