Genre-defying Duo MISSIO Announces Monumental Double-Album ‘I Am Cinco’ Out 5/3; Shares “Aztec Death Whistle”

March 8, 2024 BY Emma Orland

Today, the acclaimed Texas-based alternative rockers MISSIO are proud to announce their fifth full-length, the monumental double-album I AM CINCO coming May 3rd via NettwerkThe eclectic duo also unveil their new heavy hitting anthem “Aztec Death Whistle.” The explosive clarion call looks back at the band’s traumatic childhood and the devastating effects that their parents and church leaders had on their lives. It features ominous electronics, punctuated by recordings of locals around the ancient pyramids of Teotihuacan in Mexico. Listen HERE and watch HERE.

“An ‘Aztec Death Whistle’ makes this insane and horrifying sound,” says David. “This song is like a cry for help. Matthew and I felt a lot of anger from religious trauma. People preach a certain way, but they’re hypocritical, so you’re left picking up the broken pieces of your shattered self. It moves through different stages where you think, ‘This is fucked, let me go look for drugs as the answer. That’s not right though. Let me look for God as the answer, but it’s fucking with my head too. Let me look to my parents, but they’re going to kick me out’. You can only go, ‘What the fuck.’”

In support of the forthcoming album, MISSIO is gearing up to hit the road for a handful of headline tour dates throughout the EU and UK. Find the list of dates below and for more information on upcoming shows and to purchase tickets, visit the band’s website HERE.


On I Am Cinco, MISSIO fearlessly breaks the rules, fusing elements of rock, electronic, indie, and hip-hop into an unmatched and uncompromising hybrid, without losing the signature sound that garnered global radio hits on the Billboard Alternative Charts and Sirius XM’s Alt-Nation. They tie disparate threads together with honest and heartfelt lyrics meant to provoke and inspire. The album presents their most definitive and dynamic vision, collating five moods and EPs—I Am SadI Am HighI Am AwesomeI Am AngryI Am Crazy, and I Am Cinco—into one. Pre-order the album HERE.

I Am Cinco took shape in Austin only to be completed on a creative sojourn to Mexico City. “We’ve been to multiple countries and had 10 different sessions to write and record these 28 songs. It’s an epic inspired by some of the great old-school double LPs like The Wall or Melancholy and the Infinite Sadness. We’re not just here to check a box; we’re here to be prolific. It puts our creativity out there in a way no other album has. It’s MISSIO,” they elaborate.

Since 2015, MISSIO released Loner [2017], The Darker the Weather // The Better the Man [2019], Can You Feel The Sun [2020], and VILLAIN [2022]. Their first global hit “Middle Fingers” debuted at #9 on the Billboard Alternative Charts as they made their national TV debut on Conan O’Brien. Their catalog has resonated with Gold-certified “Everybody Gets High” and staples, including “Twisted,” “Bottom of the Deep Blue See,” “Sing To Me,” and “I See You,” with more than six songs reaching #1 on Sirius Alt-Nation. Between selling out shows, they appeared at festivals a la ACL and Lollapalooza and incited praise from BillboardRolling StoneNew Noise, and Substream Magazine.

I Am Cinco Tracklisting:

  1. I Am Sad and I Can’t Speak
  2. Read Your Mind
  3. I Don’t Like It When You’re Lonely
  4. What Can You Say
  5. RingTing
  6. Monsters (Inside of Us)
  7. Good Vibrations
  8. Easy
  9. Thang Thang
  10.  Big Stacks
  11.  Papi Chulo
  12.  I’m Coming Home
  13.  Not My Fault
  14.  Heart Made of Dynamite
  15.  Goodbye to the Old Me
  16.  Making Me Nervous
  17.  Run Away
  18.  Rage
  19.  Fuck It
  20.  Aztec Death Whistle
  21.  This World Is Better When It’s Sick
  22.  Go Fuck Yourself
  23.  Fall into a Blackhole
  24.  The Higher You Climb
  25.  Pulled Down Low
  26.  Time

MISSIO 2024 Tour Dates:

June 8 – Milano, Italy – Santeria Toscana 31

June 10 – Warsaw Poland – Proxima

June 12 – Bratislava, Slovakia – Fuga

June 13 – Nickelsdorf, Austria – Nova Rock

June 14 – Hradec, Czechia – Rock For People

June 16 – Derby, United Kingdom – Download Festival

June 19 – London, United Kingdom – Underworld

June 21 – Koln, Germany – Luxor

June 22 – Neuhausen Ob Eck, Germany

June 23 – Schnee, Germany – Hurricane Festival

June 25 – Zurich, Switzerland – Plaza

June 26 – Munich, Germany – Strom

June 27 – Berlin, Germany – Franz Club

June 29 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Tolhuistuin