Canadian Singer-Songwriter Joshua Hyslop Announces New Album ‘Evergold’ Out April 26th

January 26, 2024 BY Bailey Vigliaturo

Gold-certified Canadian singer-songwriter Joshua Hyslop is excited to announce his sixth full-length LP, Evergold, out on April 26, 2024. “‘Evergold’ describes being nostalgic or homesick for something you feel like you’ve experienced but has not yet come into existence,” he notes. “You kind of get a taste of it in your past, but you can’t get there yet—even though it’s under the surface. In Portuguese, it’s called ‘Saudade’. In Welsh, it’s known as ‘Hiraeth’. We didn’t have a word for it in English, but I wanted to come up with one. When something is ‘Evergreen, it’s not always new—but it’s still fresh. There are references to ‘Golden’ days on the album, which is a classic nostalgic idea. So, I combined ‘Evergreen’ and ‘Golden’ as ‘Evergold’.” Recorded during the fall of 2022 with longtime producer John Raham (Destroyer, Frazey Ford) in Vancouver’s Afterlife Studios, Hyslop wanted the instrumentation to mirror the title’s meaning, embracing electric guitar for the first time and trying to balance classic instruments like mellotron with synths to get this feeling of old and new.”

Today, the prolific songwriter shares the hushed anthem, “Hills,” about perseverance. Adding, “Life is not about finding answers to unanswerable questions. It’s about what you pick up in terms of who you meet, what you learn, and everything you absorb. Don’t get discouraged, keep going.”


Evergold follows Hyslop’s 2022 album, Westward, and will feature already released singles, “Pieces,” “Wrong Side Of Town,” “Down The Line,” “The Way You Can,” “One More Day,” and “When We Come Back Down.” Since 2011, Joshua has acutely tuned into emotion with the care of a craftsman and a delicate eye for detail. Thus far, he has generated nearly half-a-billion streams across albums such as Where The Mountain Meets the Valley [2012], In Deepest Blue [2015], Echos [2018], Ash & Stone [2020], and Westward [2022]. In December, his 2016 single, “The Flood,” was certified gold in Canada and The Netherlands. In between records, he logged thousands of miles on the road and incited the applause of American Songwriter, Earmilk, Exclaim!, and NPR, to name a few.

1. Rise
2. Overcome
3. The Way You Can
4. Down The Line
5. When We Come Back Down
6. Pieces
7. Hills
8. One More Day
9. Wrong Side Of Town
10. Supposed To Say