Brooklyn Experimental Quartet altopalo Share “wya?” + New Album ‘frenemy’ Out September 23rd Via Nettwerk

July 11, 2022 BY Jason Currell

altopalo today share their bubbling new single “wya?” from their forthcoming album, frenemy, out September 23rd, 2022 via NettwerkListen HERE.

“wya?” conceptualizes the waves of miscommunication that happen in all close relationships. About the track, bassist Jesse Bielenberg, shares, “Often times we go through things – as individuals. Often we try to board it up & isolate & pretend nothing is going on but our friends notice something troubled behind the eyes & try to poke us & find out what is really going on. We had a discussion where I told the rest of the band that I want them to pry more & assume less… In hindsight, I am pretty sure I needed that unyielding curiosity & care, so I felt the need to tell the guys that if they’re really concerned, they should stop caring about how rude or nosy they might seem & just try to penetrate any assumed sensitivities of mine.”

He continues, “Mike compared that to cat energy vs dog energy, which resounded pretty clearly. Dogs want to be bothered all the time & cats are very temperamental about the times they are willing to cooperate. I told them to treat me like a dog when something real or concerning is going on. The song takes place from the perspective of both the person walling off & wanting to deal with their struggles on their own, & also the concerned friend who just wants to know what’s going on with their loved one.”

The single is the oldest from the album, reworked since being cut from their 2020 album release, farawayfromeveryoneyouknow. Despite the shift in sound, “wya?” highlights the closeness the boys share in their music and relationships.

Driven by themes of male friendship and the hidden complexities within these relationships, altopalo pull together their most personal and most triumphant record yet on frenemy. Since their 2018 debut, the four-piece have racked up tens of millions of streams for their experimental and guitar-driven take on R&B, beats, ambient jazz, and more. They’ve made fans at Pitchfork, Fader, Nylon, Billboard, among others, and as studio & touring musicians outside of the band, have played or recorded individually with the likes of Moses Sumney, L’rain, Jon Batiste, Amber Mark, and more.

Recorded in a house in rural Indiana, it was inspired by lots of things, including but not limited to: the house itself, the freight trains that pass by – long long short long – train horns, astroturf, the black Chevrolet express van named “honk”, sand dunes, Lake Michigan at sunset, naked in the water, settlers of Catan board game pieces, big blue party bluetooth speaker, taco bell, fireplace with two cats, one orange, one gray, blizzards.

“wya?” is out now via Nettwerk, buy/stream it here.

Media Praise For altopalo:

“…a blend of ambient, indie rock, and R&B that recalls the work of genre-less auteurs like Justin Vernon or James Blake.” –Pitchfork

“…pretty synths collide with abrasive elements suggesting they’ve been listening to SOPHIE while Rahm Silvergade’s vocals shift in pitch and tone throughout, adding to the alien vibe of the music.” –The FADER

“…with the tinges of R&B, soul and pop filling out the meticulously constructed, cavernous rock soundscapes.” –Billboard

“the junk drawer in your house if it was music: bewildering and wondrous” –NYLON

“…an auditory experience that’s both enjoyable and studied, equally erudite and playful.” –Vinyl Me Please

“We promise you this: altopalo are unlike any other band you’ve heard…” –Atwood Magazine

Download Single Art Here​​​​​​​

frenemy is out September 23rd, 2022 via Nettwerk

1. Altopalo
2. love that 4 u (ft. Bartees Strange)
3. starfish in low tide
4. frenemy
5. time together
6. time alone
7. wya?
8. petty i know
9. table talk
10. over & over
11. hope this email finds you well
12. waitin 4 u
13. 300 mi

altopalo on tour
Oct 8th – Brooklyn, NY – Public Records
Oct 11th – Chicago, IL – Schubas
Oct 14th – Los Angeles, CA – Moroccan Lounge