Austrian Songwriter OSKA Shares Bedroom-Pop Gem “Mona Lisa, a girl’s best friend” + Debut Album Out 2/25

January 21, 2022 BY Jason Currell

Today, indie-pop singer/songwriter OSKA shares the final glimpse into her 12-song debut with the release of “Mona Lisa, a girl’s best friend.” The jangly, bedroom-pop gem is a warm ode to her first dog Mona and weaves in a story about her family member’s sickness. The bittersweet melodies and woozy instrumentals build a cathartic dream world where we feel able to deal with life’s challenges. Listen to the song on all digital retailers (here).

“My great aunt was very sick, but she survived saying it was my family, our dogs, and the apples in our garden that got her through,” she says. “Years later my dog Mona died unexpectedly, and it got me thinking about life and death a lot and that all we can really do is to be there for each other.”

OSKA’s forthcoming debut album was heavily influenced by her upbringing and family ties. Wise beyond her years, the 25-year-old examines love, loss, and making sense of the world around her. “Mona Lisa, a girl’s best friend” joins previous releases “Responsibility,” “Starstruck,” “Woodstock,” “Crooked Teeth,” and Lousy T-Shirt” on her debut album.

My world, My love, Paris is due out February 25th via Nettwerk.


Growing up in a small village in Lower Austria, OSKA moved to Vienna at 18 to study her first love; music. She started busking in streets and squares of the capital while also studying pop and jazz singing. She signed to Nettwerk in 2020 and released her debut EP Honeymoon Phase to critical acclaim. The five songs on the album have amassed more than 4 million Spotify streams and won her the XA Music Export Award at Waves Vienna Festival 2020.

Now in 2022, OSKA is proud to unveil her debut full-length album My world, My love, Paris.

“For so many years making my first album was the biggest thing in the world to me. That‘s probably also why it took me so long to make it. I always wanted it to be special and at times was scared that I wouldn‘t like it five years from now or that I couldn’t identify with the music some time after the release.”

I‘m realizing more and more that this album does not have to be perfect or everything I‘ve ever dreamed it would be. It’s like a photograph, something to look back on, something that brought me a lot of joy and songs that helped me through a lot of sad times. It’s honest and there’s so much love in it. So much time and work, even tears, hours of watching my producer Alex edit guitars and drums and vocals, hours of singing and waiting for the right moment to record and the right emotion to be caught, hours of writing and doubting my skills, hours of absolute peace and flow and loving that I get to do this. I’m okay with the fact that my music will change with me. I’m okay with letting go off these songs. I’m okay with the album being out there and listened to. I’m very okay with this album being my first album.”

It’s obvious that history, family, and legacy are touchstones of OSKA’s music. Legacy can mean different things to different people. For some, legacy is simply about blood ties. For others, it’s about making positive decisions that will impact future generations. For OSKA, legacy is about both of these things. It’s a theme that looms over her remarkable debut album, My world, My love, Paris. Ultimately it serves as a snapshot of a young woman attempting to make sense of getting older in an increasingly uncertain era.

Download “Mona Lisa, a girl’s best friend” Single Art HERE

Praise for OSKA:

“OSKA has a special talent for bittersweet yearning poeticism…” – Under the Radar

“A creative spirit influenced by the human experience and relationships and determined to inspire listeners through poetic verse and beautiful melodies alike.” – Atwood

“the track is a deeply personal exploration of her inner thoughts, there is the underlying sense that everyone can relate to OSKA’s melancholic disposition.” – COLLiDE

“the definition of soaring alt-pop” – When The Horn Blows

“moving and often heart-wrenching” – Clout

“a style that could stun even the most casual of music listeners” – Keep Walking Music


“My world, My love, Paris”

February 25, 2022

Nettwerk Records

Download Album Art Here

Track List:

1. Too Nobody
2. My world, My love, Paris
3. Responsibility
4. Mona Lisa, a girl’s best friend
5. Misunderstood
6. Starstruck
7. Woodstock
8. Lousy T-Shirt
9. Crooked Teeth
10. ABC
11. Helplessly Hoping
12. Hallucinating