Aussie Jack River Shares Biting New Track “Adolescent;” Deluxe Album Announced

April 12, 2019 BY Nettwerk

“…crunching guitar pop… Raging against “shallow love” it’s devastating of lyric and concise of vocal, recalling everyone from Hole to Smashing Pumpkins.” – Clash Magazine

 Jack River dips her toes into a hazy 90s rock essence and emerges with glistening new track “Adolescent” off of the upcoming deluxe version of her debut album, Sugar Mountain. The track welcomes Jack River, the moniker of Holly Rankin, into the New Year after a mammoth 2018. Following from singles “Fault Line,” “Ballroom,” “Confess” and ARIA Certified Gold gem;”Fool’s Gold,” “Adolescent” offers a unique sparkle to River’s glowing catalogue.

Describing the inspiration behind the track Holly says, “This is a song for all the girls and boys sick of shallow love and the culture that celebrates it.” Born in New York City a couple of years ago, “Adolescent” is a boycott to conventional pop subject matter, questioning youth’s age old obsession with love and lust. Calling out the façade of social media culture’s infatuation with aesthetics, this is a song for all the boys and girls chasing something deeper and grittier, something with meaning.

The release of 2018’s debut album Sugar Mountain earned River three ARIA Award nominations including: Breakthrough Artist, Best Pop Release and Engineer of the Year and an APRA nomination for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year. She spent the last year on tour in support of the record selling out 1,000+ capacity headline shows and opening for international indie-pop heavyweight Florence and The Machine, Aussie idol Vance Joy and notorious party starting duo Peking Duk with River featuring on their latest, tooth-achingly sweet single “Sugar” which has just reached ARIA Gold status in her native country.

Accompanying the news of a fresh single, Jack River announces the release of the deluxe version of Sugar Mountain. In addition to the new single “Adolescent,” the deluxe album will also include acoustic versions of “Fault Line” and “Fool’s Gold” along with a special cover from the album title inspiration; Neil Young’s “Sugar Mountain.” The deluxe version will be released via Nettwerk Record on May 31st.