Ambient Post-Rock Artist ALASKAN TAPES Shares New Track; Album Set For April 16th       

March 6, 2021 BY Nettwerk

Today, Toronto-based composer Alaskan Tapes shares his ambient new single, “One Thousand (Mighty) Voices,” which evokes the feeling of being lulled awake from a restful sleep. The track is off of his upcoming album, For Us Alone, which will be released on April 16, 2021.


 Alaskan Tapes is Brady Kendall’s ever-evolving ambient music project. The record will be his fifth outing and follows his 2019 full-length Views From Sixteen Stories. Kendall wrote the nine songs on For Us Alone in three groups of three, and as a result the music flows cohesively from one track to the next. Exactly three songs feature drums—one in each suite, a technique that helps flesh out the groups and connect them to the whole. Everything was written and recorded in Kendall’s home studio space in the apartment where he lives with his girlfriend about an hour north of Toronto; strings were added remotely by Jonathan Dreyfuss in Berlin, who was the only musician aside from Kendall to play on the album. The recording embraces the imperfect nature in which it was made, from ambient blips that add texture and depth to the low hum of a conversation elsewhere in his home to the intentionally muddy way the electronic drums were captured.

Growing up, Brady played the drums in metal bands before he discovered the drum & bass scene. He started to create and post liquid drum & bass tracks online before becoming more focused on what he calls “drawn-out minimal sounds.” Out of these style tracks, the project was born. Starting in early 2016 with the debut EP Beyond the Streets and then a full-length, We All Speak in Poems, later that same year, Alaskan Tapes began releasing a steady stream of music that gradually ebbed and flowed into new sonic territory and served as a natural progression of Kendall’s tastes and sound experiments.  From the initial atmospheric electronica and beat-less ambient songs of that first pair of records to neoclassical dream pop, guitar-based ambient, and drone music—some songs

Stay tuned for more to come from Alaskan Tapes.

For Us Alone Track List:

  1. And Then, Calm
  2. Floating Completely
  3. Of Falling
  4. One Thousand (Mighty) Voices
  5. Real People in Real Places
  6. We
  7. Open
  8. The Sky Sings Its Chorus (For Us Alone) [pt. 1]
  9. The Sky Sings Its Chorus (For Us Alone) [pt. 2]