Alt-Psych Rock Band, Meltt Share Sonically Stunning New Album, ‘Eternal Embers’

September 22, 2023 BY Emma Orland

Today, the mesmerizing alternative psych-rock band Meltt share their aurally astonishing new album, Eternal Embers via Nettwerk. Showcasing the band’s impeccable ear for molding shoegaze guitars, shimmering synths, and evocative vocals, the release is an airtight psychedelic ethereal instrumentation with themes of growth, decay, rebirth and grief. Eternal Embers is available on all digital and streaming platforms here

Jamie of Meltt shares, “We want you to go on a journey with this album. Even though we deal with darker themes, it ends on a positive note. I’d like for you to have this big cinematic ride, but end in a positive place. There’s always light at the end.”


Formed in Vancouver, Meltt featuring Chris Smith (lead vocals, guitar, bass, keys), Jamie Turner (drums, percussion), James Porter (guitar, bass, keys, vocals), and Ian Winkler (keys, bass, guitar) wrote and recorded what would become the Eternal Embers in sessions with co-producer Kieran Wagstaff. Along the way, they formulated ideas separately. Eventually, they spent a month in a remote cabin together where they feverishly wrote and shored up the foundation of the record, “we had similar experiences during COVID where we were all meditating on death and rebirth. It’s interesting how it individually shined through in our respective writing, but it overlaps in a very cool way. Everything fit together really well. There’s a balance of light and contemplation in one atmosphere,” shares Jamie. 

Meltt offered a glimpse of Eternal Embers with their March 2023 EP, Another Quiet Sunday featuring the singles “Within You, Within Me,” “Blossoms,” and “It Could Grow Anywhere,” included in tomorrow’s release. Using neon synth lines accented with lush guitar hooks, they presented their next batch of singles off Eternal Embers “Do You Ever Wonder” and the autoharped technology addiction anthem “Soak My Head”. To seal a perfect release, Ian Winkler used grief and decay as he channeled all his energy into the illuminating “Your Melody,” recalling his father’s devastating fight with ALS.. 

Meltt’s Eternal Embers is a soundtrack of life cycling through birth, death, and rebirth — their music resembles this natural sequence.

Eternal Embers Tracklisting:

Into the Blue

Only in Your Eyes 

Within You, Within Me 

Do You Ever Wonder?

The Absent Sea

It Could Grow Anywhere 

(Hummingbird in the Garden)


Your Melody

Aphantasian Dreams

The Fire

Soak My Head

When the Smoke Abates

Another Quiet Sunday (Keep Moving On) 

To celebrate the release of Eternal Embers, Meltt are heading out on tour starting with their album release show partnered with Desert Daze Presents on 9/30 in Vancouver and then making stops in Los Angeles on 10/15 for Desert Daze Presents ‘Daze In The City,’ New York at Baby’s All RightChicago at The Hideout, and more.


Sept 30 – Rickshaw Theatre – Vancouver, BC

Oct 11 – Soda Bar – San Diego, CA

Oct 15 – Gold Diggers – Los Angeles, CA *Part of Desert Daze Presents Daze In The City

Oct 19 – Foro Indie Rocks – Mexico City, MX

Oct 21 – Mohawk Indoors – Austin, TX

Oct 22 – Club Dada – Dallas, TX

Oct 24 – Gasa Gasa – New Orleans, LA

Oct 26 – Drkmttr – Nashville, TN

Oct 27 – The Earl – Atlanta, GA

Oct 28 – Petra’s – Charlotte, NC

Oct 29 – Pie Shop – Washington D.C.

Nov 1 – Baby’s All Right – New York, NY

Nov 2 – The Lilypad – Boston, MA

Nov 3 – Diving Bell Social Club – Montreal, QC

Nov 4 – The Garrison – Toronto, ON

Nov 7 – The Hideout – Chicago, IL

Nov 8 – Cactus Club – Milwaukee, WI

Nov 9 – 7th St Entry – Minneapolis, MN

Photo credit: Zachary Vague DOWNLOAD HERE