Alt-Folk Songwriter Lawson Hull Shares the Warm & Nostalgic “Canada ’17”

January 6, 2023 BY Jason Currell

Today, Australian alt-folk songwriter Lawson Hull shares “Canada ’17,” a warm ode to a period spent living and roundtripping through Canada with his now wife, Rhianna. Full of fond nostalgia, the verses act like journal entries – candid and specific – encapsulating the feeling of joyful wanderlust. Lawson’s whispering croon is full of tender passion. Listen to “Canada ‘17” on all digital retailers (here).

Lawson affectionately explains: “I remember Rhianna being scared out of her mind at the potential of seeing a grizzly while hiking. The joke was they were more scared of us… that’s what I told her anyways. We spent a lot of time in the Rockies and eventually made our way over to Vancouver and Vancouver Island. Our trip wrapped up there. It was bittersweet because we were having such a good time but the closer we got to being home, we just wanted to be there already. We missed people and were running out of money. This song is nostalgic for me and definitely one to add to a road trip playlist.”

“Canada ‘17” the mesmerizing “Leaving” and romantic “Wanna Be With You” will appear on Lawson’s upcoming EP Mountain Days, out February 11th via Nettwerk.


Describing himself as “an Aussie take on Tom Petty, but half as good”, Lawson Hull’s modesty does little to conceal his immense musical and lyrical talent. Warm, atmospheric, and spacious, Lawson’s music oozes comfort, and places him amongst Australia’s greatest contemporary indie folk voices: think Angus and Julia Stone, Boy and Bear and #1 Dads.

The Central Coast-based artist merges fascinating prose with cinematic production and artful songcraft on his 2021 EP, Hangin’ Out with Cowboys. Personally, he’s “not much for cowboy hats.” However, much like the title suggests, he’s got a few friends who are. This body of work bottles the expanse of the outback’s breathtaking vistas into robust guitars, dreamy beats, and chantable hooks. With a little poetic license and tasteful embellishment, Lawson’s deft and dynamic storytelling brings these tracks to life with all the gusto of a classic flick.

Since the EP, Lawson has gifted us with an acoustic version of the much beloved “Mexico,” produced by Byron Bay’s Garrett Kato. Then, in mid-2022, he teamed up with Hein Cooper on “Maze,” a heady track that ruminates on an exhausting and isolating struggle with anxiety and self-doubt: “I got caught in the maze again”. Before that, we heard “Sweetheart,” a collaboration with Nashville songwriter and producer Old Sea Brigade. The track tells the story of a man reminiscing on the earlier days of a relationship. A connection that was once intimate and warm has now turned distant, with Lawson pleading “sweetheart, you’re slipping through my hands.” With performances alonside Julia StoneRiley Pearce and Hein Cooper over the past year, Lawson Hull proves himself one to watch.

Now, Lawson returns with his newly announced EP Mountain Days. Mountain Days represents a time and place; memories from living on a little mountain in the Watagan Ranges of New South Wales. “Isolated in nature, the songs of the EP are bound together by all the things that make writing up here feel special,” Lawson reflects. “It’s running up the mountain between bouts of creative block. It’s the getting distracted by squabbling parrots out the window. The hosting of backyard parties with bonfires and loud music, or a quiet cup of tea in the morning with my wife.”

Media Praise For Lawson Hull…

“With a twangy guitar, modern indie-folk melodies, and an unforgettable dream pop sound, Hull … embarks on an emotional joyride filled with otherworldly bliss.”

– The Luna Collective

“…a sun-drenched dip into a more heartland rock realm, channeling the likes of Tom Petty as well as contemporaries like Kevin Morby…”

– The Indie Machine

“His lyrics speak of breakdowns and confessionals with heart-breaking realizations.”

– Big Takeover

“…rooted in folk and dream pop melodies…”

– Culture Collide

“a career lifting release”

– Our Culture

“Combining folk and dream pop sounds, infused with hints of country and 70’s rock, the release feels like it could be a lost Fleetwood Mac release.”


“Sometimes all you need from a song are some intricate guitar twangs, ethereal harmonies and relatable as hell lyrics to really get you going…Fans of the likes of Iron & Wine and Damien Rice will feel at home here.”

— Hrmny Presents

“Fans of modern indie folk music are going to enjoy this one a great deal.”

– Ear To the Ground

Download Single Art HERE