Alayna Shares Reflective New Single “Arrived” Today + Announces Debut Album, Out 7th July

May 19, 2023 BY Jason Currell

New Zealand-based singer and songwriter alayna has today announces her greatly anticipated debut album, Self Portrait Of A Woman Unravelling; which is set for release on 7th July through Nettwerk. Pre-order HERE

Along with the announcement is the final single to be unveiled before the album’s release, the personal and reflective track ‘Arrived’.

Spacious synths set the soundscape for ‘Arrived’, with alayna’s captivating vocals placed centre stage. An existential undertone creates an initial tension, as alayna’s exquisite songwriting takes her audience on a journey of personal discovery and understanding; the music expanding into a sense of vastness as she realises she “might never ‘arrive’ anywhere”.

Listen/Share ‘Arrived’:

“There’s a euphoric release of feeling as I let go of this pressure I’ve put on myself,” explains alayna. “‘Arrived’ is about how I’m feeling like I’m falling behind in life, and that everyone else seems to be doing better. I feel there’s too much noise coming from everywhere, making me think I should be ‘there’ by now. I come to realise that maybe I’ll never truly ‘arrive’ to that place of having it all figured out.”

Written and recorded at Parachute Studios with Josh Naley (Wells*), the single was mixed by award-winning engineer Simon Goodingand mastered by Joe LaPorta from Sterling Sound.

“I had been having these feelings for a long time, and the day we wrote this, Josh was creating this incredible soundscape” says alayna. “Once I found my melodies I wrote the lyrics very quickly, almost trying to keep up with how fast they were coming. It felt so freeing to finally be able to articulate what I’d been feeling for so long, and I knew it was going to be a very important part of my album journey.”

The accompanying video for ‘Arrived’ will be revealed in coming weeks.

With her debut album Self Portrait Of A Woman Unravelling announced today, ‘Arrived’ is an “important part of the puzzle that I’ve been piecing together throughout my journey of writing the album.” It follows alayna’s previously released singles Meteors, ‘Cherry Tree’, ‘If You Want My Love’ and ‘Buckle In Baby’ – most recently ‘Buckle In Baby’ reaching #8 in the Hot 20 New Zealand Singles Chart. ‘If You Want My Love’ has notably already reached over 500k streams on Spotify alone.

alayna’s debut EP Sweet Soul was released back in 2018 and amassed millions of streams. The single ‘Falling Autumn’ reached #8 on Spotify’s US Viral chart and got spins on BBC Radio 1. Her acclaimed sophomore EP Tender came out in 2020, in which HillyDilly said she “has one of the best voices, and her delicate melodies are second-to-none… she continues to impress on each release.”

The new material on Self Portrait Of A Woman Unravelling sees her slowly transition from an R&B and soulful singer to a singer-songwriter where her lyrical skills truly shine. Growing up listening to heavyweights such as Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen, alayna’s songwriting depth can be attributed to these influences and the experiences that shaped her.

Get ready for alayna’s debut album by soaking in the story and atmosphere of today’s single. ‘Arrived’ gives a taste of what’s to come, giving hints at the overarching theme of the album which “ultimately explores the concept of who I am, where I am, where I’ve been and where I’m going.”

Self Portrait Of A Woman Unravelling [Track listing]:

1. Buckle In Baby

2. Who Am I Now

3. Icicles On My Eyelashes

4. If You Want My Love

5. Art Or Ego

6. A World Without You

7. Will She Come Home?

8. The Ground

9. Cherry Tree

10. Arrived

11. Absolutely

12. Meteors

13. Other Than Nothing

14. A Footnote

Pre-order ‘Self Portrait Of A Woman Unravelling’ HERE