Passenger Sees Career High Chart Debuts Around The Globe

Mike Rosenberg, better known by the moniker Passenger, is seeing career high chart debuts around the globe this week. In the U.S., his new album Whispers lands at #12 on the Billboard 200 with 19,000 sold. It also charted at #1 on the Folk Albums chart, #5 on the Rock Albums chart, and #5 on the Overall Digital Albums chart. In other parts of the world, Whispers landed at #5 in his native UK, #2 in his second home of Australia and Canada, #3 in New Zealand and the Netherlands and #6 in Germany.

Passenger, who played the main stage at last weekend’s Isle of Wight Festival in England to over 50,000 people, will be touring the world in support of Whispers, starting in North America on Saturday, August 2 in Atlanta, with 10 of 23 cities already sold-out and other venues upgraded. He’ll be supported by fellow Nettwerk label mates The Once and Stu Larsen, both of whom also appear on Whispers. He’ll also play a free show at NYC’s Central Park SummerStage on August 10. Full list of dates/venues is below.

Whispers is the follow up to 2012’s All The Little Lights, which featured the international hit single and 3x Platinum “Let Her Go.” All The Little Lights debuted on the Billboard Heatseekers chart upon its release in August 2012, where it remained for 45 consecutive weeks, grabbing the #1 position multiple times before crossing into the top 100 of the Billboard 200, where it currently remains, having peaked at #26 in January 2014. “Let Her Go” peaked at #5 on the Billboard Hot 100 following the songs use in the Budweiser “Puppy Love” Superbowl commercial. The single, which boasts over 300 Million YouTube views, was also #1 at Hot AC, AC and Triple A Radio, as well as Top 10 at Top 40 Radio. During his 2013 sold-out world tour, Passenger appeared on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno, Live! With Kelly and Michael. At the top of 2014, he performed “Let Her Go” on the Today Show before turning his attention to the new album. In the spring, Passenger debuted his new single, “Scare Away The Dark,” on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, followed by performances on VH1’s Big Morning Buzz and The Queen Latifah Show.

Passenger On Tour (with The Once and Stu Larsen):
Sat, Aug 2 Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre (sold-out)
Sun, Aug 3 Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works
Tue, Aug 5 Charlotte, NC @ Amos’ Southend
Wed, Aug 6 Washington, DC @ Echostage
Fri, Aug 8 Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory
Sun, Aug 10 New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage (free show)
Wed, Aug 13 Boston, MA @ House of Blues (sold-out)
Thur, Aug 14 Montreal, QC @ Metropolis (sold-out)
Sat, Aug 16 Toronto, ON @ The Sound Academy (sold-out)
Sun, Aug 17 Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore
Tue, Aug 19 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Wed, Aug 20 Indianapolis, IN @ Egyptian Room @ Old National Center
Fri, Aug 22 Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre (sold-out)
Sun, Aug 24 Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Sat, Aug 30 Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Amphitheater
Sun, Aug 31 Dallas, TX @ House of Blues (sold-out)
Wed, Sept 3 Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre (sold-out)
Sat, Sept 6 Seattle, WA @ Showbox SoDo
Sun, Sept 7 Vancouver, BC @ Malkin Bowl (sold-out)
Tue, Sept 9 Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Thur, Sept 11 Oakland, CA @ Fox Theatre
Sat, Sept 13 Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern (sold out)
Sun, Sept 14 San Diego, CA @ House of Blues (sold out)

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com

Has Media?: 
no