Jay Brannan To Release 'Rob Me Blind' March 27; NYMag.com Premieres New Video For Single "Beautifully"

New York-based singer/songwriter Jay Brannan returns with sophomore full-length album Rob Me Blind on March 27, 2012. Jay released his critically lauded debut album goddamned in 2008, but first gained attention with his role in John Cameron Mitchell’s 2006 indie film Shortbus, where he performed his original song, “Soda Shop.”

For his sophomore effort, Jay teams up with Grammy-winning producer David Kahne (Regina Spektor, Paul McCartney, The Bangles), who brings instrumental textures to Jay’s songwriting, hinting at a slightly new direction for the minimalist artist while maintaining the signature qualities of a Jay Brannan album: brutal honesty, sharp wit, and sparkling melodies. Lyrically, the album follows the singer through states of loneliness, anger, rejection, and yearning, while somehow offering a glimpse of hope and self-acceptance.

The first single from the 10-track album, “Beautifully” (out now in iTunes), showcases Jay’s talent for storytelling as he recounts the saga of someone falling for a close friend whose attraction lies only in the realm of the platonic. A new video for the track (directed by Grant Carden & Dillon Magrann-Wells) premiered yesterday on NYMag.com (here).

Keep reading for more information.

Jay’s debut album goddamned (2008) debuted at No. 25 on iTunes’ overall albums chart. His tenor voice combined with painfully honest lyrics surrounding taboo subjects caught the attention of critics at such influential outlets as Rolling Stone, The Washington Post, and The New York Times, which proclaimed that Jay “makes even the saddest lyrics easy on the ear.” In the Summer of 2009, he released In Living Cover, a covers album consisting of seven cover songs book-ended by two originals, which he recorded in a friend’s bedroom-studio in Brooklyn. It topped the Singer/Songwriter chart on iTunes and reached No. 10 on Billboard’s Heatseekers chart. He has spent the past few years touring multiple times around the globe, including the USA, Canada, the UK, Ireland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Sweden, Norway, Greece, Brazil, South Africa, Israel, and Australia.

Stay tuned for more information, including North American tour dates. For biography, press photo and cover art, please click here: http://bit.ly/wSPzEe.

Rob Me Blind Track Listing:
1. Everywhere There’s Statues
2. Beautifully
3. The Spanglish Song
4. Rob Me Blind
5. Greatest Hits
6. La La La
7. Denmark
8. Myth of Happiness
9. The State of Music
10. A Love Story

Pre-order Rob Me Blind:
iTunes: http://bit.ly/wRkXTh
Amazon: http://bit.ly/yYioTX


Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com