Guster To Release 'Guster: Live Acoustic' On January 8; 2013 Tour Dates Announced

Kicking off 2013, Nettwerk Management artist Guster will self-release Guster: Live Acoustic, a collection of live recordings from their 2012 acoustic tour (out January 8, 2013). To watch the 1-Minute album trailer, click above.

It’s been eight years since Guster released a proper live album - 2004’s Guster On Ice – and two years since their last studio album, Easy Wonderful. The sixteen tracks from Live Acoustic are a musical tribute to the varied faces and places that made last year’s travels one of the most remarkable in Guster’s impressive career.

“I guess we could have called it Live at Various Theaters,” says drummer Brian Rosenworcel, referencing the fact that the songs on the album were culled from many performances and not just one. “Actually, I wish we’d called it Live at Various Theaters. Is it too late to call it Live at Various Theaters?”

While the members of the band mainly stick to the acoustic guitars on Live Acoustic, the songs are fleshed out with Charlene Huang on violin and April Guthrie on cello – helping to bring out the parts and arrangements that have made Guster’s studio recordings such mainstays.

To Watch “Rocketship” Live Video, Click Below:

Rosenworcel plays a drum kit adorned with glockenspiel and percussive drums like djembe and hand snare, while newest member Luke Reynolds alternates with bandmates Ryan Miller and Adam Gardner on acoustic guitar, bass, piano and ukulele. The melodies and harmonies that have made Guster famous have never been more purely on display. Live Acoustic is an album that pulls from an impressive fifteen-year discography and makes a case for Guster’s place amongst the best pop bands and songwriters of their era.

As an added treat for fans, the band will release a hand-numbered, limited edition version at The eco-friendly letterpress packaging by Union Press (Somerville, MA) is made from 100% post-consumer recycled materials.

Tour Dates:

4-Jan New Orleans, LA @ House Of Blues
5-Jan Dallas, TX @ Morton H Meyerson Center (W/Dallas Symphony Orchestra)
6-Jan Austin, TX @ Central Presbyterian Church (w/Guster String Players)
8-Jan Birmingham, AL @ Workplay Theatre (w/Guster String Players)
10-Jan Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse (w/Guster String Players)
11-Jan Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse (w/Guster String Players)
12-Jan Durham, NC @ The Carolina Theatre of Durham (w/Guster String Players)
14-Jan Bloomington, IN @ Buskirk-Chumley Theatre (w/Guster String Players)
15-Jan Elyria, OH @ Stocker Arts Center (w/ Guster String Players)
17-Jan Northampton, NH @ The Calvin Theatre (w/Guster String Players)
18-Jan Port Chester, NY @The Capitol Theatre (w/Guster String Players)
19-Jan Portsmouth, NH @ The Music Hall (w/Guster String Players) – SOLD OUT

Track List:

1. Backyard
2. Do You Love Me
3. Long Way Down
4. That’s No Way To Get To Heaven
5. What You Call Love
6. Beginning Of The End
7. Diane
8. Rocketship
9. Empire State
10. Rise And Shine
11. Two Points For Honesty
12. Either Way
13. Satellite
14. Rainy Day
15. Hang On
16. This Could All Be Yours

Press contact: 

Penny Palmer |