Ash Koley Premieres New Video "Mary The Inventor;" 'Inventions' and 'Acoustic Inventions' Out May 8

Canadian alt-pop duo Ash Koley--Ash Koley and Phil Deschambault--will release debut album Inventions in the U.S. and the rest of the world on May 8, 2012. The album, which was previously only available in Canada, was produced by Deschambault and mixed by Grammy Award-winning mixer Tom Lord-Age. In anticipation of the release, the band has unveiled a brand new music video for album track “Mary The Inventor,” which premiered today on the American Eagle "Made To Last Blog" (here).  

“For us, creating music is like building little inventions. Every song we write comes from an idea we then craft, construct and design into something we both fall in love with,” said Koley of the album title.

Inventions features 13 songs--nine original album tracks and four bonus tracks, including a cover of The Cure’s “Just Like Heaven.” In addition to the studio album release on May 8, the pair will release an acoustic album called Acoustic Inventions, comprised of acoustic versions of stand-out tracks from the studio album, as well as various tracks from the pair’s years of writing together.

Singer Ash Koley and producer/songwriter Phil Deschambault began their musical collaboration in 2004, when the two self-proclaimed nerds from Winnipeg were introduced by a mutual acquaintance. Phil was looking for a singer who could relate to his sound, and Ash’s velvety voice did just that. Together, their sound is an amalgamation of diverse influences, from Abba to the Eurythmics, and from Peter Gabriel to Radiohead. The result is a band that is a full embodiment of what they each bring to the duo – quirky charm and upbeat classic pop music.

Inventions Track Listing:
1. Brighter At Night
2. Apple Of My Eye
3. Don’t Let Your Feet Touch Ground (Tom Lord-Alge Mix)
4. Downtime Up
5. Mary The Inventor
6. GO!
7. Colliding
8. Balance
9. Sheep In Wolves’ Clothing (Tom Lord-Alge Mix)
10. I Can’t Feel The Bottom (Bonus)
11. I Don’t Need Anyone To Save Me (Bonus)
12. Getaway Car (Bonus)
13. Just Like Heaven (Bonus)

Acoustic Inventions Track Listing:
1. Apple Of My Eye
2. Don't let Your Feet Touch Ground
3. Getaway Car
4. Sheep In Wolves Clothing
5. Brighter At Night
6. Slowly Leaving
7. Go!
8. I Don’t Need Anyone To Save Me
9. Leave The Rest For Dead
10. Downtime Up
11. Whatever Your Sign
12. Balance

Stay tuned for more news from Ash Koley.


Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo |